Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Ariens 520 Snowblower won't start

12-07-08, 04:32 AM   #1  
Ariens 520 Snowblower won't start

I have a 1-year old Ariens 520 snowblower (Tecumseh engine) and I did not stabilize the fuel over the summer. I've replaced the fuel, the oil, the sparkplug, and it still won't start. It seems that fuel is not getting to the engine since I put a little bit of fuel under the spark plug and got it to fire. I suppose there is a fuel blockage somewhere but I don't know how to find it and fix it. I have very little small engine experience. Any ideas? Thanks

Sponsored Links

NH

12-07-08, 05:55 AM   #2  
Sounds stupid, but is your gas shut-off turned on?

01-03-09, 10:46 AM   #3  
Fixed my unit

I had the same exact problem and was able to fix it in less than 20 mins. Remove metal case on left of unit by taking off the choke knob and removing 3 other screws. Then remove center screw from silver bowl, float was stuck close. Cleaned with carb + choke cleaner and now its running like new.

12-08-09, 05:17 PM   #4  
Old gas

Are these engines really sensitive to stale gas? I'm having the same problem as seagarn with my one season old 522E.

I have spark and gas but it wont hit a lick any ideas?

Thanks, Doug

Non-US

12-08-09, 05:41 PM   #5  
Gas is only good for 30 days max & depending on the temp outside maybe less.. These carbs have some very small passages in them & a little bit of varnish will block them & give you problems...More often than not you will need to disassemble the carb & clean it or even soak it in a bath type cleaner & install a repair kit... Roger

12-08-09, 06:14 PM   #6  
phoooey

I was afraid of that and I bet it will be even more fun with the new emission controls

Like my granddaughter says "ooh noooo"

MN

12-08-09, 07:59 PM   #7