Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Coleman generator don't put out


mongo1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2

12-22-08, 08:26 AM   #1  
Coleman generator don't put out

I have a Coleman generator vertex 7500 watt with electric start. The generator is about 7 year and was not really used till the Ice storm we had in New England last week.
the unit work find for the first 2 days and then all of the sudden it put out very little wattage. it ran continuosly for those 2 days and nothing new was plugged in when it started to have problems. if you start it and then plug in a light, the idle will kick up but it puts out very little wattage.

 
Sponsored Links
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,567
GA

12-22-08, 11:56 PM   #2  
Just to be sure I understand, you get full voltage, but not enough watts?

I don't want to doubt what you're saying, but I'm guessing your voltage is low, and that would be an indication of an internal problem...possibly/likely a blown diode.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
mongo1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2

12-23-08, 04:00 PM   #3  
The generator will run a drill but not a drop light,I tried a space heater the idle kicked up and the LED lit up but that was it no heat.

volt meter showed 70 volts or so and my new Generac showed 120 volts.

I not that good with troulble shooting electrical, so i started to look for a shop that might work on it. Have trouble finding a shop that will work on a coleman generator.
Thanks

 
Buddyboy4's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 16
CANADA

01-06-09, 06:59 AM   #4  
I had a problem with my Coleman generator a couple of years ago exactly like yours. Ran well for a while, then suddenly no power output even though the engine was running OK. I took it in for a warranty repair and there was quite a few sitting there with the same problem. The dealer said that Coleman had a bad batch of a particular circuit board made in Mexico. The little circuit board was replaced and has run reasonably well ever since.

 
Search this Thread