Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Snowblower engine swap

12-29-08, 12:19 AM   #1  
Snowblower engine swap

Hi all. Looking for any tips or pointers anyone can offer. I have an old ( 35 years + ) AMF 2 stage snowblower with a Tecumseh H70 engine that I've been using for about 10 years. Never really have had any serious problems with it until this season. One by one, every little thing that could break on it has. All have been pretty easy fixes. It's always smoked a little, so I usually check and add oil every third time it runs, which I did a couple nights ago. So this morning when I started it, it got 10 feet and stopped dead. Checked the oil - bone dry. Pulled the belt housing off and checked the crank - it turns nice and easy, right up until it hits the broken rod in the case. Ok -so now its time to rebuild or replace my engine. It was obviously going through more oil suddenly, so it threw a rod and may have finally lost the compression rings.

So - I find this almost new Tecumseh 10 hp in the back of my garage that I forgot about 3 or 4 years ago that runs a generator that I rarely use. And seeing as a couple more storms are coming this week, I'd like to get my machine up and running soon.