Honda sx6500 too much voltage

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-11-09, 02:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Honda sx6500 too much voltage

I have a Honda sx6500 that is producing 178 V on the 120 V outlets, and 356V on the 240V outlets. Where do I start to fix this???

Thanks,

kb
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-11-09, 02:18 PM
Speedwrench's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,698
lower the engine speed. there should be a screw on the governer mechanism that allows you to lower engine speed. use a volt meter while adjusting the speed.

the only difference between men and boys is the price of their toys
 
  #3  
Old 01-11-09, 03:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 755
I think you have your model number incorrect. EB, EM, ES or EU6500.

These larger Honda generators use automatic voltage regulators so do not mess with the engine speed.

Check again for correct model number and give the VIN and/or serial number.
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-09, 12:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Sorry,
It is the EB6500SX model. I have been told that it is the voltage regulator, a $200 part.

Is there a specific test that I can perform to be sure of this. $200 is allot of money to be just guessing with.

I don't have the generator near by that I can get any more numbers off of it.

Thank you,

kb
 
  #5  
Old 01-14-09, 07:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 755
To troubleshoot your problem you must have a serial number, as there are variations in generators. Additionally, you will need a multi-meter and a tachometer for basic troubleshooting. If all tests you can perform with a multi-meter are OK then a tester only available to dealers is required. This tester is needed to test the AVR and I would NEVER replace an AVR without knowing it is defective.

If the engine for some reason were running higher than 3750 RPM you would need to adjust it down as Speedwrench mentions. On this generator you set the RPM at 3750 with no load applied. The AVR should take care of the rest.

If you intend to take this task on get the serial number and PM me with an email address and I will send you the procedure.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 PM.