Cub Cadet 528SWE Snowblower surges then stalls

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-19-09, 03:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 131
Cub Cadet 528SWE Snowblower surges then stalls

I have a Cub Cadet 528SWE snowblower that wont start. I try the pull start and get nothing. I then tried the electric start which gets the engine running but it just surges then stalls. It runs at full power as long as I prime it but when I stop priming, it stalls. I have only used this thing 5 times. Any ideas what might be wrong?

Another thing I noticed is that after you pull the starter cord, it seems like something continues spinning a second after it is pulled. Almost like something is spinning free.

This would have to happen when there is a foot of snow on the ground!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-20-09, 07:25 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,728
The carb is varnished up. If you're an average mechanic, take it apart, soak it in a cleaner from NAPA and blow it dry with compressed. Reassemble and you're good to go.

However, if you're not the best at mechanic stuff, get a can of Sea Foam from Walmart, add double the concentration recommended on the can to the fuel tank with a quart of new gasoline. Then get it running for a couple of minutes, shut it off, let it sit for about a half an hour, then repeat. Then add enough gas to bring the fuel/Sea foam mixture up to the recommended level.

It should clean it up.
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-09, 12:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 131
I took it apart and got it running again. Thanks for the help.

However, I noticed something strange. When I took it apart, there was nothing holding the carb to the intake. It was basically held together by the cover plate, which the carb was bolted to. Now, as a temporary fix, I placed a bolt through the two to hold them together. It runs like a charm. Is there any hard in this method? What typically would hold the carb and intake together?
 
  #4  
Old 01-22-09, 02:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central New Hampshire
Posts: 754
2 bolts go thru the carb flange and hold it on the intake. You really should have a gasket between the 2.
 
  #5  
Old 01-22-09, 06:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 131
I cant believe they werent there. Ill have to buy a gasket and then a couple bolts that fit better than what I have. Thanks for the help!
 
  #6  
Old 01-22-09, 06:53 PM
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 514
How about engine make, model and type #'s
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes