Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Do I need a Voltage Regulator for genset ????


digitalis49's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7

02-24-09, 07:17 PM   #1  
Do I need a Voltage Regulator for genset ????

I have a 5kva 50Hz 240VAC 20.8A generator powered by a 10hp Robin-Subaru petrol(gasoline) engine.

Engine runs at a fixed speed (I think at 3000rpm).
The alternator/generator has a capacitor. No AVR.

When genset is running with no appliance connected, output voltage shows 225 VAC.

When I connect one appliance, voltage increases to 230+ VAC

When I connect a 2nd appliance, voltage increases even further - up to 247VAC.

Is the unit faulty? or
Do I require an Automatic Voltage Regulator - or the like ? - e.g. between the genset and power sockets ?

Any geniuses out there ? Would appreciate your advice.

 
Sponsored Links
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,571
GA

02-24-09, 07:48 PM   #2  
Are you certain the engine is running at the correct rpm? I think you'll find it should be at 3600 rpm under a load.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
digitalis49's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7

02-24-09, 07:53 PM   #3  
The ID plate on the genset says:

MARKON AC Generator
Type BL105E 5.0KVA
50Hz 3000rpm
240V 20.8A

It was only my assumption, from looking at the ID plate, that the engine runs at 3000rpm.

I have no real way of knowing actual rpm.

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,571
GA

02-24-09, 11:48 PM   #4  
hmm... I guess that's also why it shows to run at 50 hz. 3600 should get it near 60 hz, but apparently it is not designed to run that way and it may increase the voltage to out of spec levels. Sounds to me like it's working, just that it's not a very controlled output. If you're running simple 240 appliances with it, they will probably run ok on what you're getting. Some induction motors and anything with sensitive electronics might not perform so well.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
digitalis49's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7

02-25-09, 01:14 AM   #5  
Is it possible to regulate the output voltage somehow?

If not, my wife will hang me for garters on the clothes line!!!!

 
Airman's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 755
TN

02-25-09, 08:17 AM   #6  
Posted By: digitalis49 Is the unit faulty? or
Do I require an Automatic Voltage Regulator - or the like ? - e.g. between the genset and power sockets ?.
Your generator is running and operating just fine for your voltage needs. The Macfarlane website shows for the B105 generator voltage regulation will be +/-7.5% of the nominal. The differences you see in voltage is the engine responding to load. You are safe from the clothes line.

Macfarlane Generators - Markon B105 Brushless Generators

I always found it strange that electric use varied so much around the world.
Electricity Around the World

Posted By: digitalis49 Any geniuses out there ? Would appreciate your advice.
If I could remember all I have learned, I would be a genius! Instead, I am average.

 
digitalis49's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7

02-25-09, 02:23 PM   #7  
Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
I am soooo relieved.

All I need do now is get me one of those inductive tachometers to ensure the engine rpm is set to the correct speed...... and I can then rest easy!

Once again, AIRMAN, CHEESE, I do thank you for your assistance.

 
Search this Thread