Craftsman chain saw starting problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-10-09, 06:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 9
Craftsman chain saw starting problem

I have a craftsman chainsaw model #358.356280 that has been sitting in storage for a few years. I had to replace the fuel line and primer tube and of coarse refuel with fresh mix. I can only get it to run for 4 or 5 seconds then it stalls as if it ran out of fuel. I disassembled carb and cleaned it but it still will not run. I would welcome any suggestion and also how many turns out should the hi, lo, and idle screws be set.

Thanks, Karmrd
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-10-09, 09:26 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,815
Remove the muffler and look into the exhaust port at the piston and cylinder. Are they smooth and shiny? Or do they have scratches and marks?

Carb mixture screws are generally somewhere around 1 turn out from lightly seated. I like to turn them 1 1/2 turns out, then fine tune from there.
 
  #3  
Old 03-11-09, 03:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 9
Thanks cheese I will do that this afternoon and report. I will also try to get a compression reading to boot.
 
  #4  
Old 03-11-09, 04:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 9
Found another port on crankcase

I removed the fuel tank and found a port on the crankcase with a piece of hose attached. Now my question is: which hose goes to which port? I have the fuel line with weighted filter coming out of the tank to the inlet port on carb, right? I also have a second hose from the tank (with duck bill valve on tank side) and now a third hose from crankcase. Which one would attach to the top of carb to the diaphram port?

Nevermind this question. It just dawned on me that the tube with the ducktail valve is for a primer ball if it had one. It doesn't so I'll just plug it. I think it will run now.

Thanks
 

Last edited by karmrd; 03-11-09 at 06:22 PM.
  #5  
Old 03-11-09, 06:40 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,815
The hose with the duckbill is a vent. You do not want to plug this...it needs to be able to vent.
 
  #6  
Old 03-12-09, 04:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 9
I can't get any pressure (positive or negitive) to the diaphram. It has no path from what I can tell. I quess I'll have to find information elsewhere.
 
  #7  
Old 03-12-09, 05:10 PM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
It should be thru a passage in the gasket between the cylinder & the intake, thru to the carb. (internal) Did you install a carb kit or only clean the carb.. If the fuel lines needed replaced, the diaghragms in the carb are just as rotton.. Also check for leaking crankcase seals on older saws, they get hard & brittle when sitting & may cause loss of pump pulse to the carb... Good Luck, Roger
 
  #8  
Old 03-12-09, 07:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 9
She's fixed!!!!!!

Well after reading everything I could find on the internet about this carb I got it worked out. The pulse port from the crankcase is now on the port on top of the carb where it belongs. The diaphram pulsing action is acheived when vaccum is generated thru a tiny port between the wet side of the diapham and the venturi as intake air pulses through the bore. The tube with the ducktail is a vent as cheese said. I did at least have the fuel line in the right place. Anyway, the chainsaw runs GREAT and I'm on to my next project. A craftsman gas powered hedge trimmer that my son bought when he bought the chain saw. Its probably going to be another carb problem.
Thanks.
 

Last edited by karmrd; 03-12-09 at 10:07 PM. Reason: Poor writing
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes