Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

MTD 5/24 Snow Blower

03-25-09, 10:06 PM   #1  
MTD 5/24 Snow Blower

I just bought a used MTD 5/24 that I think needs a new/rebuilt carburetor.

The previous owner put a carburetor from a lawnmower on it, that doesn't have the same connections. He gave me the original carburetor, and I cleaned it up, but the blower doesn't start.

Model 310-550-000/J059B

HS50-67267JSER9264B

Any idea when this was originally built?

Any suggestions on how to find a local parts supplier, I am new to my area.

I was looking on partstree.com, but they don't have my model? Also, I don't see any info about the carburetors for any of the models?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links

MA

03-26-09, 04:51 AM   #2  
On partstree,enter HS50-67267J in the bottom left box where it says "enter model here" It will bring up your engine and you can buy a carb or see breakdown if you want to attempt rebuilding it, rebuild kit you need is PN# 31840

NH

03-26-09, 05:53 AM   #3  
You need a new carb. Who knows what carb was put on and what size lawn mower it was off. Plus you need the remote primer, not the built in primer used on mowers and the mower carb does not have the primer nozzle. The Tecumseh carb part number you need is 631923 and costs about $85 new.

Last edited by indypower; 03-26-09 at 06:40 AM.

03-26-09, 09:01 AM   #4  
Posted By: smallengineguy On partstree,enter HS50-67267J in the bottom left box where it says "enter model here" It will bring up your engine and you can buy a carb or see breakdown if you want to attempt rebuilding it, rebuild kit you need is PN# 31840
I tried that, but it says it can't find any models like "HS50-67267J "???