Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

carburetor??? gas backed up...

MO

07-03-09, 07:52 PM   #1  
carburetor??? gas backed up...

I rebuilt my Welbro carb with new gaskets and a float. I have never done this before on a riding mower but new that it couldn't be hard. Got it all done a put back together and mowed the front yard and it ran fine. When I was done I noticed a boiling sound somewhere in the engine and a few minutes later there was gas leaking. Could not see where it was coming from but there was quite a bit of it. I then noticed that the carb was covered in gas and so I took off the air filter and gas was backed up all the way to the top of it. Whats going on? I know I must have done something wrong but can anyone tell me what I may want to be looking for?

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

GA

07-03-09, 08:29 PM   #2  
The needle is not seating properly. I suspect something is interfering with float operation (maybe the needle clip is not straight) or there is a problem with the needle or seat.

"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

NH

07-03-09, 08:33 PM   #3  
I agree with cheese and was about to say the same thing. Float not set correctly or needle not seating.

MO

07-03-09, 08:37 PM   #4  
I don't understand what you mean when you say that the float is not set correctly...there is only one way that it can go in. I did notice that the little line that the tip of the needle fits up into was bent over against the side of the carb but thought that it may have been the way it was suppose to be....think thats my problem?

Forum Topic Moderator

GA

07-03-09, 08:40 PM   #5  
The metal wire clip that holds the needle? If so, then that could be the problem.

God bless!

MO

07-03-09, 08:42 PM   #6