Honda mower run with no oil, rebuild or not?

Old 09-25-09, 07:46 PM
Honda mower run with no oil, rebuild or not?

I have a Honda HR215K1HXA Masters series lawn mower. I think the engine has seized up. Is it worth it dollar wise to rebuild it???

The mower is about 9 years old and looks to be in good condition. I think the previous owner forgot to put oil back in after an oil change or it drained out the bottom of the engine.

When I bought the mower it started on the first pull but had a very loud clicking/clanking noise immediately on start up. It only ran for about 1 second before it was turned off. Previous owner said it was running/cutting fine when he heard the loud noise and immediately turned it off.

So I get the mower home and ran it for another 1-2 seconds until I turned it off quickly. A few minutes later I try again and I can't turn the engine by pulling the chord. I can rotate the blade CCW about half a turn and pull the chord which follows by a hard stop and a clank.

Then I realize maybe the oil is low and sure enough, doesn't look like there is any in it.

So, anyone rebuilt a mower engine that has previously run with no oil until it seized up? What damage is expected? What's the likely hood it can be rebuilt for a reasonable $ price? Talked with a shop and a new engine GXV-140 engine would cost about $450.

It does leak oil from the bottom of the engine.

I've never tried to rebuild an engine before but considering it if it makes sense... I know itís good model mower, but what would it take to get it running?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-25-09, 08:01 PM
'IF' the eng has a'cast
iron' cylinder liner-it is rebuildable-if no'iron' linner '-disposable'
no oil on start up could damage the rod bearig surface.the crankshaft is replaceable,probably a rod also. but an aluminum cylinder wall-(no linner) is 'useless'-threrfore-disposeable

Old 09-26-09, 05:32 AM