Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

craftsman power washer won't start


dhansen46's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3

10-08-09, 07:44 AM   #1  
craftsman power washer won't start

I have a Craftsman power washer 580-751651 that won't start. I purchased the power washer at a garage sale. I replaced the carborator and still will not start. Where should I go from here. The carborator I purchase was a replacement from Sears.
thanks,
Dwight

 
Sponsored Links
BFHFixit's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,762
KS

10-08-09, 08:37 AM   #2  
Do you have spark? .

 
dhansen46's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3

10-08-09, 12:03 PM   #3  
craftman power washer won't start

Yes, I had the air filter off and it would backfire in the carborator. It has gas. Could it be the intake value not opening. Is there a way to check it.
Dwight

 
BFHFixit's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,762
KS

10-08-09, 12:22 PM   #4  
Sears site has gone SOUTH so I can not determine what engine you have. That will be helpful. Post the engine numbers.
It does appear as though you may have a low oil sensor...?
Check for spark. Backfire does not confirm you have consistent spark.
Others with better resources for info than I will be more able to help.

 
dhansen46's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3

10-08-09, 01:21 PM   #5  
craftsman power washer won't start

It does have an oil sensor. I have made sure that it does have oil and the light is not coming on. I have pulled the plug and crank the engine and it does have spark. Let me know how to proceed.
thanks,
Dwight

 
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,561
Non-US

10-08-09, 06:01 PM   #6  
Since you have no idea of the past life this unit may have lived,, I think checking for compression may be a good place to start... You have spark & a new carb,, only one thing missing,,,, let's check if it has compression & go from there.... Roger

 
Search this Thread