Honda EM2200 Generator issue

Old 01-03-10, 02:11 PM
Honda EM2200 Generator issue

I have an old Honda EM2200x generator that is giving me erratic voltages. Starts up and runs fine...the voltage just seems to jump around quite a bit. If I plug in a 500w halogen light...the light will "pulsate" for lack of a better term. Then, after running for a bit, the light will burn steady for a bit. After a few minutes...it will start pulsating again.

I'm thinking voltage regulator...but I have no service manual...so I'm not really sure.

Could anything else be causing this? Any way to test the regulator?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 01-03-10, 04:52 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Check output voltage with a meter. I am not a generator expert, but I would first suspect either engine rpm or capacitor(s) before regulator as a cause of your problem.

Old 01-03-10, 07:29 PM
If you feel, you have the electrical skills and test equipment I will help you with your generator. I have the service manual, which is a rather complicated PDF format with links. You will need a tachometer and a multimeter. You will need to have a means to test frequency although there is a way to guestimate it.

Let me know if you are up to it.

Old 01-04-10, 05:49 AM
I took some voltage and freq measurements today.

When I first fire up the generator and let it warm up for a few minutes I get voltage readings from 89-114 volts. The gen. has an analog voltage meter built in, and it swings back and forth pretty good. Freq is 60-61 Hz...and stays stable. Plugging in a 500w halogen lamp...I get the same results.

After about 4-5 minutes running under load....the voltage will stabilize a bit. Voltage stays at 110-118v. The halogen lamp, and the built in green lamp on the generator will still continue to pulsate a bit though. Freq. remains 60-61 Hz.

After 4-5 minutes of running like this, you can hear an audible change in the generator, and the voltage goes back to a wide range of 89-114 volts.