Oil Mix- Premeasured?

Old 02-01-10, 11:27 AM
Oil Mix- Premeasured?

I use the squeeze bottle of 2 stroke oil with the measured amount at the top of the bottle. I have noticed that lately, first with a newer blower and now with an older, recently serviced chainsaw, that I have to run with the choke in the "halfway" position. If I switch to "run" it either stalls or does not operate at full speed. I think the measured amount mixes a 40:1 but don't know for sure. Has anyone else run into this problem? Is there something I need to be doing? I hesitate to alter the ratio too much because I don't want to hurt the engine. Thanks for any input from.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-01-10, 11:54 AM
Super Moderator
Most of those bottles have lines for different ratios. If you haven't changed oil and it was working ok before....maybe the gas is old? Have you left gas in it for a long time without running it?

Really..not that I'm a Pro...it sounds like your mixture may be off or your carbs are varnished up or dirty.

Old 02-02-10, 12:00 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Generally, the half choke thing indicates a carb restriction. Making sure the oil ratio is correct is important, but I doubt it has anything to do with having to run it on half choke.

Old 02-02-10, 07:41 AM
I have a 19 year old Homelite blower that I use at times to blow the salt off my concrete driveway. It's cold here. In cold weather it does not run properly unless I move the choke to the 1/2 position for the first minute or so. Guess it needs to warm up. This has been the modus operandi for a number of years. Once warm, it runs fine in the normal choke setting.

Old 02-02-10, 08:01 AM