Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Stihl 011 chainsaw starts but won't run full throttle

MI

03-26-10, 01:32 PM   #1  
Stihl 011 chainsaw starts but won't run full throttle

Hi,

I'm a weekend mechanic when it comes to small engines. I can do a few things, but can also mess up.

I have a Stihl chainsaw that was running ok in the fall with the exception of starting poorly when hot. I took it out for its first spring action and it turned and then wouldn't start. So I squirted some small engine carb cleaner into the carb and some starting fluid into the air cleaner. Now it starts up fine and will continue to run on idle or a medium throttle, but if I pull the throttle button fully, it dies no matter what I do.

I've looked at a few threads from the past and they all point to carburetor problems. This makes sense to me, but I'm not sure I can take this thing apart and put it together correctly (I've rebuilt two carbs in the past from small engines, but it was a long time ago). Any suggestions? How hard is this to deal with? Am I best taking it to a repair shop and paying a lot (for me) or is this some thing I could do myself?

Any feedback would help.

Thanks,
Ian K

Sponsored Links

IA

03-26-10, 01:50 PM   #2  
You have a carb issue or a fuel line or filter. Removing, cleaning, and putting a kit in will likely take care of a carb problem.

It could have a vacuum leak somewhere along the intake or at the crank seals - the latter being a little more involved to fix.

I believe I would try adding a little Sea Foam to the gas oil mix, let it run for about ten minutes, without a load, then shut it off and let it sit for an hour. Then start it up and see where you're at. You may have to adjust the low speed mixture to fine tune it.