Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

95 Craftsman only starts with starter fluid

MA

04-12-10, 05:54 AM   #1  
95 Craftsman only starts with starter fluid

Mower started right up after I removed the airfilter and sprayed starter fluid in the air intake but wont start on its own. Any thoughts on why? Do I need to clean the carb - not sure I'm up for this. I've never done it before...

Ohh, sorry I have a model: 917.256520

parts list and diagram here: http://www.outdoordistributors.com/p...PARTS-LIST.pdf

Sponsored Links
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation

WA

04-12-10, 09:36 AM   #2  
Yep. Clean the carb. Well, check the rest of the fuel system to be sure something isn't preventing fuel getting to the carb ---then clean the carb.

If you aren't familiar with doing that you can Google up some articles on that subject, then view several U-Tube videos on the subject and you'll probably have the idea.

That's what I did recently, anyway. I've had great success with my new skill and went on to clean my weed wacker carburetor with great results!

Last edited by SeattlePioneer; 04-12-10 at 10:53 AM.

Forum Topic Moderator

GA

04-13-10, 12:11 AM   #3  
Hold on a sec, it may be a carb problem but there are things to check first.

Once you get it started, does it continue to run on it's own?

Is gas getting from the tank to the carb? I didn't look, but if this model has a fuel pump, is it pumping?

Does this carb have a solenoid on the bottom of the bowl? If so, it could be stuck in the off position and be the reason for the lack of fuel. It could also be that the this solenoid isn't getting power to it. This can be verified while pulling the bowl off to see if the inside needs cleaning.

"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

NH

04-13-10, 07:06 AM   #4