JD LT155 reverse problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-18-10, 09:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 7
JD LT155 reverse problem

When I push the back up button it allows the tractor to go backwards for a second or two and then begins to die as if the button had never been pushed. I'm assuming that the switch is going bad but would appreciate any input.

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-18-10, 10:56 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 325
might be a defective safety switch that thinks you still have the blades engaged
 
  #3  
Old 04-18-10, 03:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 7
The blade is engaged.

It is designed to cut going both directions.
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-10, 06:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NH
Posts: 6
The reverse button is required only if the blades are engaged.

The switch is most likely completing a circuit when the button is depressed, so it can be bypassed to check operation. Simply remove the two wires from the back of the switch and join them electrically (using electrical tape, etc., to prevent shorting to ground). If the switch is defective, then the tractor will now work in reverse (with blades engaged) without dying. Obviously, you have no safety interlock at that point and must use all service shop precautions to avoid injury.

There is a possibility (I don't have a wiring diagram!) that the switch breaks (rather than completes) a circuit when the button is depressed. If so, to test would be to separate the two wires. So try that as well is the tractor still dies after the first test.
 
  #5  
Old 04-20-10, 09:32 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,575
As I recall, the switch is integrated with a printed circuit control board. Check the connections to it and the connectors, and if no problems are found to be obvious, you probably need a new one. When it dies, can you quickly hit the switch again and keep it running?
 
  #6  
Old 04-22-10, 05:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 7
Back up problem

Yes, if I push the botton quickly it revs back up and runs fine.
 
  #7  
Old 04-23-10, 01:04 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,575
I'd say the switch assy is bad or the connections to it are bad. It could also be that the blade switch or reverse switch is intermittently losing connection, resetting the reverse interlock controls. I'd start by cleaning the connections to the switch assy and the pto and reverse switches. I think you'll wind up having to replace the button/switch assembly though.
 
  #8  
Old 04-24-10, 01:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 7
Thanks everyone.

I took your advice and bypassed the switch. Worked like a charm.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 PM.