Craftsman riding mower - no motion

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-14-10, 06:27 AM
CMil's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United States of America
Posts: 432
Craftsman riding mower - no motion

A friend has a Craftsman model 917.251520 lawn tractor on which the engine runs fine and drives the deck and spins the transaxle pulley, there's just no drive happening. This tractor has the hydrostatic transaxle. At some point the transaxle filter has been changed, but I don't think the fluid lost was replaced. Am also unsure the Fram brand automotive oil filter used makes a suitable replacement for the factory filter, especially if the original unit modulates pressure internally.The service manual recommends a transmission purge procedure after any repairs or service, but does not indicate a fill procedure or a recommended fluid. Any input on these questions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance - Chris
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-14-10, 06:56 AM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
Has a wheel been removed for anw reason??? If so, the key may have fallen out & the axle is just spinning?? Also check the tow/drive valve to make sure it's in the drive position... I'm not too familiar with hydro's, But the pro's will be along soon... Roger
 
  #3  
Old 05-14-10, 07:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NE Okla
Posts: 432
only question I can answer is it takes 66.6 ozs. 20W-50 automotive oil.
http://www.m-and-d.com/pdfs/hydrogea...10L_140343.pdf
 
  #4  
Old 05-14-10, 07:34 AM
indypower1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lake Winnipesaukee, New Hampshire
Posts: 634
I tried to cross the factory filter to Fram, Wix. Neither crosses.
The Sears # for the filter 182642, the HydroGear part #50D37. This filter costs $32.50 form Sears, which is why they just tried to match a filter at the local auto parts store. It uses 20W50 oil and synthetic is highly recomended.
 
  #5  
Old 05-14-10, 07:58 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NE Okla
Posts: 432
The oil filter must be proprietary in that it may have a relief PSI different from any automotive filter, which makes it costly.
I have read in places where guys would drain the old filter, fill with fresh oil, drain again and reuse it.
fwiw,
 
  #6  
Old 05-14-10, 10:36 AM
CMil's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United States of America
Posts: 432
Based on the input rpm and output psi numbers from the HydroGear website, I'm not going to get the pump spinning fast enough with the transaxle out of the tractor to purge it. Okay, back in it goes. Going to drain whatever is in it, screw on the old filter, fill with 20w50 synthetic and follow the purge procedure in the manual. We'll see what happens next. Until then, - Chris
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes