Craftsman Mower Engine Control Cable

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-22-10, 02:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 32164
Posts: 46
Craftsman Mower Engine Control Cable

I have a Sears Craftsman Walk Behind Lawnmower front wheel propelled (Briggs and Stratton 6.5 HP)
And I am having a problem with the engine control cable the one that goes to handle you have to hold down to start mower and hold while using mower
I was able to free up the lever that the cable attaches to but when you depress the cable it still a hard pull and pops the cable holder off the handle
I tried lubricating the cable but it got a little better but its puilling so hard the cable holder still wants to pop off handle
Is it possible the cable is bad or has a kink inside the tubing it runs through
At the moment I put a wire tie to help hold the cable holder in place
I went on Sears part and the whole assembly is only about $10.50 and seems easy enough to replace
I had trouble figuring out why the cable would be so hard to pull if the actual lever it pulls was freed up?
 

Last edited by michael123; 07-22-10 at 02:43 PM. Reason: engine size
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-22-10, 03:52 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 11,566
Sounds as though the cable may be bad internally. Try disconnecting both ends and see if the cable moves freely in the housing.
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-10, 03:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
Those cables collect moisture in the low spots of the cable and rust, a lot of mowers get trashed because of a simple cable. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #4  
Old 07-22-10, 04:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 32164
Posts: 46
Geo and Tow
Thanks I am going to just order the whole cable assembly as I said its only 10 and change
I noticed some rust and binding in the turn of the sleeve
 
  #5  
Old 07-22-10, 07:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
Originally Posted by michael123 View Post
Geo and Tow
Thanks I am going to just order the whole cable assembly as I said its only 10 and change
I noticed some rust and binding in the turn of the sleeve
My $.02;
When you get the new one before putting it on, put oil on the cable and work it back and forth to work the lube to the areas that are going to likely rust and you will never have a bad cable again. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #6  
Old 07-22-10, 07:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 32164
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by geogrubb View Post
My $.02;
When you get the new one before putting it on, put oil on the cable and work it back and forth to work the lube to the areas that are going to likely rust and you will never have a bad cable again. Have a good one. Geo
yes I will do that except the shealth covers most of the cable and it comes with the finished lugs so you can only pull it out so far on each end but I will try to get some WD40 to flow down there
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes