echo srm-2100 weed eater

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-29-10, 12:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 13
Talking echo srm-2100 weed eater

I can't get this thing running past idle, I have:
1. changed the gas
2. changed the plug
3. cleaned all the ports (best I could) with carborator cleaner.
4. soaked the carborator in cleaner for a couple of hours
5. changed all gaskets
6. replaced fuel lines
7. cleaned filter

But is still only idles. Only sometimes if I get the choke set just right will it run.

Any help at this point is needed.

Thanks,
John
 

Last edited by johnhagaman; 07-29-10 at 01:38 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-29-10, 12:47 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,728
If it runs OK on partial or full choke the delivery to the carb is probably OK, which is the fuel pump diaphragm. It could still have bad crank seals or a plugged carb port, though.

See what you have for adjustment screws. It may just need a slight turn of the high speed screw - a little counter clock. Try that first.
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-10, 01:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 13
test

thanks, I'm heading to the garage now......
well not I can't get the darn thing stated at all. Pulled the plug, cleaned all with carb cleaner, adjusted the run/idle screws all over the place and nothing.
This crap gets frustrating!
 

Last edited by johnhagaman; 07-29-10 at 02:02 PM.
  #4  
Old 07-29-10, 04:03 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,728
Don't do anything with the idle speed just yet. First go to the adjustment screw you changed and set it at 1 1/2 turns out from lightly seated.

If you cleaned the carb on the engine, you have it flooded. Pull the plug, no choke, full throttle and pull it over about fifteen times with the kill switch off.

Then put about a half teaspoon of fuel/oil directly in the cylinder and with no choke half throttle, good plug in, see if it will start for you.

If it tries to and runs for a short time, try to start it with half choke, half throttle.

** An engine will start on the choke circuit alone without regards to the setting on the idle, low or high speed. It just won't run right if those are off. So for now just getting it started on the choke is the big thing to work through.
 
  #5  
Old 07-30-10, 02:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 13
Thankyou

You were right on. Adjusted the idle right and now it runs like it is new. Thanks for the help
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes