Yardworks 4.5 carb. linkage Help !!

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-09-10, 07:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa. Canada
Posts: 66
Yardworks 4.5 carb. linkage Help !!

Hi I had the carb. off to clean it and now I can't get the two linkage rods right.

Did a little searching on google and can't seem to find anything ?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

I found these numbers on the mower deck, didn't see anything on the engine..

11a-413f515
060-1603-6

Wayne.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-09-10, 10:16 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,821
Do you know what kind of engine is on it?
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-10, 05:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa. Canada
Posts: 66
It's a Tecumseh 4.5.

I can't seem to find any numbers on it !?
 
  #4  
Old 08-10-10, 03:34 PM
31YTech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: EveryWhere
Posts: 1,263
Hello Wayne,


Take a look at this thread, It should cover your linkage problem;


http://forum.doityourself.com/outdoo...long-help.html



Good Luck
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-10, 07:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa. Canada
Posts: 66
Thanks for the pictures I plan on tinkering with it tomorrow (the beginning of my long weekend).

One thing I noticed from the pictures you supplied. It looks almost like mine but slightly different. My lawn mower (Yardworks4.5) doesn't have a throttle control. Both rods/spring attach from the governor arm to the top of the carb.

Everything looks almost the same as the pics with the exception of the throttle arm.

I haven't had any time but I plan on tinkering with it tomorrow.

I should have took a picture, I need to try and remember that for the next time Finding the parts manual would be a bonus.. I've been searching. Any more input is welcomed.

Cheers
Wayne.
 
  #6  
Old 08-13-10, 04:13 AM
31YTech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: EveryWhere
Posts: 1,263
Wayne,

If you don't have a throttle control the link with the spring will hook to a stationary tang/bracket next to the carb.

You can download a complete service manual for your engine here; Toprake - A Cut Above


Good Luck
 
  #7  
Old 08-13-10, 08:49 AM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
Also if you have the tang instead of throttle, it goes on the intake/carb bolt closest to the engine.
I have had some come in with it installed on the outer bolt after attempted repair, and the spring tension is too much and the mower will not start.
 
  #8  
Old 08-13-10, 08:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa. Canada
Posts: 66
Originally Posted by BFHFixit View Post
Also if you have the tang instead of throttle, it goes on the intake/carb bolt closest to the engine.
I have had some come in with it installed on the outer bolt after attempted repair, and the spring tension is too much and the mower will not start.
This is exactly what I have done. I will move it to the inner bolt tomorrow.

Thanks for the input.

Cheers
Wayne.
 
  #9  
Old 08-15-10, 08:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa. Canada
Posts: 66
Originally Posted by woscarr View Post
This is exactly what I have done. I will move it to the inner bolt tomorrow.

Thanks for the input.

Cheers
Wayne.
Success ! Thanks for all the help. Love this place !

Cheers
Wayne.
 
  #10  
Old 08-15-10, 08:18 AM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes