Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Need advise on getting started

TN

08-31-10, 09:26 AM   #1  
Need advise on getting started

Hey I really enjoy working on small engines as a hobby. Ever since I was a little kid I have been fascinated with engines and power equipment. I have been working at a go cart place for several years and have learned to do anything with small engines. My boss was comfortable letting me do everything from simple fixes to complete rebuilds. This summer i started getting lawnmowers and other equipment to fix up and re sale and i really enjoyed that. I am in college right now however I would really like to start up my own repair shop on the side from my house. There are a lot of things to consider and i just thought it would be wise to ask you guys for advise. What would be the best way to get this started and if i did what would be the best way to order parts? I am willing to spend time reading books and learning more and more about how engines work. I am very mechanically minded so I pick up things fast. Thanks in advance
-Will

Sponsored Links

PA

08-31-10, 11:35 AM   #2  
Some big stuff to consider, if you plan on operating out of your house, will your neighbors be ok with it? Any zoning problems that the local govt. will hassel you about? Will this business be "on the books" or under the table? Insurance? collect sales tax?

Will you have storage space for several machines at once? A way to store and properly despose of/recycle old oil and gasoline? Will you have to deal with inspectors for storage of old oil and gas?

I mention the above stuff, not to scare you, but from my experience in working in restrictive places with too much regulation. Maybe you are lucky enugh to live in a place free from such worries.

TN

08-31-10, 12:24 PM   #3