Honda GX390 Engine only idles

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-08-10, 02:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: US
Posts: 3
Honda GX390 Engine only idles

Model Honda GX390 for a 6500 Watt Generator
389 cubic cm
Serial #: GCAA-3903615
Remote throttle linkage

The engine starts right up, idles fine and runs fine at high rpm. I can move the throttle, but it does not stay there, it only wants to go back to idle. With the engine off, the throttle plate moves easily. I think I have the carburetor clean because it used to only run with choke closed and would run rough or surge with it open. Shouldn't I be able to set the throttle position, what is pushing it back down to idle?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-08-10, 10:30 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,815
Have you tried putting a load on it to see if it revs on demand? When you say you can move the throttle, do you mean the actual throttle shaft on the engine, or the throttle lever on the remote throttle? Does the remote lever stay where it is set, or can you rev it from the remote throttle?
 
  #3  
Old 10-11-10, 08:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: US
Posts: 3
Thanks for responding. I did not try putting a load on it this time around after cleaning the carburetor - only checked the output with a multimeter while revving higher (and holding it) with the remote throttle lever. Will try putting an actual load on the generator. When I say I can move the throttle lever, I meant the remote throttle lever. The remote lever does not stay where it is set (no load applied), simply wants to go back down to idle as soon as I let go. I would have thought that you could set the throttle.
 
  #4  
Old 10-11-10, 09:07 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,815
I'm not sure why a generator would have a remote throttle. The rpm usually needs to be dead-set to obtain the proper Hz. Is this an add-on?
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-10, 03:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: US
Posts: 3
I put a load on the generator by plugging in a buffer, and it isn't providing full power. It does seem to idle up some but not enough to provide full power. I did notice that the engine does not completely go down to idle where I have the idle screw set. What would cause that - I can force it down to the idle stop but as soon as I let go it goes back up some.
 
  #6  
Old 10-13-10, 04:13 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,815
It's probably because the static tension on the governor spring is set to hold it at that rpm. This sounds like something someone has rigged. What is the brand and model of the generator?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes