Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Honda GX390 Engine only idles


gmilo2's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
FL

10-08-10, 02:43 PM   #1  
Honda GX390 Engine only idles

Model Honda GX390 for a 6500 Watt Generator
389 cubic cm
Serial #: GCAA-3903615
Remote throttle linkage

The engine starts right up, idles fine and runs fine at high rpm. I can move the throttle, but it does not stay there, it only wants to go back to idle. With the engine off, the throttle plate moves easily. I think I have the carburetor clean because it used to only run with choke closed and would run rough or surge with it open. Shouldn't I be able to set the throttle position, what is pushing it back down to idle?

 
Sponsored Links
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,573
GA

10-08-10, 10:30 PM   #2  
Have you tried putting a load on it to see if it revs on demand? When you say you can move the throttle, do you mean the actual throttle shaft on the engine, or the throttle lever on the remote throttle? Does the remote lever stay where it is set, or can you rev it from the remote throttle?


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
gmilo2's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
FL

10-11-10, 08:08 AM   #3  
Thanks for responding. I did not try putting a load on it this time around after cleaning the carburetor - only checked the output with a multimeter while revving higher (and holding it) with the remote throttle lever. Will try putting an actual load on the generator. When I say I can move the throttle lever, I meant the remote throttle lever. The remote lever does not stay where it is set (no load applied), simply wants to go back down to idle as soon as I let go. I would have thought that you could set the throttle.

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,573
GA

10-11-10, 09:07 PM   #4  
I'm not sure why a generator would have a remote throttle. The rpm usually needs to be dead-set to obtain the proper Hz. Is this an add-on?


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
gmilo2's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
FL

10-13-10, 03:05 PM   #5  
I put a load on the generator by plugging in a buffer, and it isn't providing full power. It does seem to idle up some but not enough to provide full power. I did notice that the engine does not completely go down to idle where I have the idle screw set. What would cause that - I can force it down to the idle stop but as soon as I let go it goes back up some.

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,573
GA

10-13-10, 04:13 PM   #6  
It's probably because the static tension on the governor spring is set to hold it at that rpm. This sounds like something someone has rigged. What is the brand and model of the generator?


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
Search this Thread