compression release

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-24-10, 01:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NH Seacoast
Posts: 143
compression release

I have a briggs engine that I I am trying to get running again. I put on starter motor but the compression release valve isn't working to well. When I opened up the engine I noticed that it looked like the little bump for the compression release to have worn out or something. Here are my questions: should I notice the valve opening when I turn over the engine? Is there a way the compensate for a worn out bump in the compression release valve? Shpuld I buy a stronger starter motor?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-24-10, 09:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 325
is it a flathead or OHV. Either way valve clearances are important. Did you check them against specs? Aslo make sure your battery has good cranking amps. Model number of the engine would help.
 
  #3  
Old 11-25-10, 04:21 AM
Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Iowa!!!!!
Posts: 3,728
In terms of your questions:

The compression release/relief works on the exhaust valve (normally). It simply cracks it open until the engine starts. From that point on it is inactive. When you turn the engine over both the exhaust and intake valves will open and close.

Should you have a valve that isn't moving at all the problem is likely either the push rod in an OHV (overhead valve) engine or the cam (in either OHV or flat head). Your engine is the latter = the valves not moving would be an indication of a worn out cam or cam gear. There wouldn't be a way to compensate for it. The part at fault would have to be replaced.
 
  #4  
Old 11-25-10, 06:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NH Seacoast
Posts: 143
well, it is a flathead engine and when i do turn over the on the compression stroke i do hear some air escaping but it is not enough for my starter motor (which by the way is a 120v (that plugs into an outlet) that i took off a 8hp snowblower engine) to get trough with enough speed for the magneto to work. Any suggestions (preferably on the cheap)?
 
  #5  
Old 11-25-10, 09:00 AM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
I think your starter motor is your problem. AC motors just don't have enough torque in general. DC starters are capable of much more torque which is needed for starting and engine and the reason they draw so much amperage.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes