How do I adjust generator governor speed

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-02-11, 11:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 323
How do I adjust generator governor speed

Coleman Powermate 5000 w/ Subaru/Robin engine EX30.

I can increase the idle speed via the phillips head screw, but need to keep the RPM's stable under load. Do I adjust the springs, replace springs...don't see any small holes to move them.

I have 124V at idle, when I plug in a small vacuum....about 1000 watts, the RPM's drop but cannot hold 3600, I get about 110V.

When I push on the arm, I don't get much resistance when I get it back to 125V...seems a small adjustment and I can get it to hold...just not sure what to adjust.





Something tells me to not loosen this. I know it goes to the governor but will repositioning the arm change the governor set speed?

 

Last edited by i6pwr; 01-02-11 at 12:25 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-03-11, 02:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 325
might want to invest in a kill-o-watt meter to measure frequency output. It is more important than voltage output and should be 60 hertz
 
  #3  
Old 01-04-11, 04:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 323
The Hz is right at 61-62 at no load, problem is no matter how much load I put on it, the speed keeps decreasing. I understand it will start to taper off at some point, but I can easily push on the governor rod and it will maintain RPM under load.

It's off just a tad, but I can't see how to adjust this except for loosening and readjusting the part that attaches to the governor rod, figure it was a spring issue.
 
  #4  
Old 01-04-11, 09:44 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Your manual? It says you have a two yr warranty.


http://www.powermate.com/pdfs/2007/1..._pc0435003.pdf



Powermate - Product Manuals

E mail coleman.
 
  #5  
Old 01-04-11, 08:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Thanks for the links, I also have the Subaru service manual but aside form the initial adjustment...I still need to know if I can further adjust the governor.

The Generator is about 4 years old, it runs fine, just that when it is under load, it needs just a tad more throttle to hold 3600 RPM's.

The motor will adjust for the load, it will go from 125V down to about 112 under only 1000 watts of load. The motor steps up as soon as the load is applied but just needs a tiny bit more...I feel it may be a spring issue or something.....that is what I need to know, can it be adjusted other than the initial adjustment of the governor arm?
 
  #6  
Old 01-04-11, 08:36 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Are you sure its that? Some have voltage regulators and they go bad. My gen is like 130volts with no load. But as you max out the watts with load it drops to the 120 or so volts.

Mike NJ
 
  #7  
Old 01-05-11, 11:32 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
It does sound like the governor isn't pulling in hard enough. You may have to reset it at the pinch bolt and shaft. To set the governor, note which way the shaft turns to speed up the carb, then shut the engine off, loosen the governor arm bolt, hold the throttle wide open, turn the governor shaft in the direction that would speed up the engine as far as it will go, and tighten the bolt while holding the carb and shaft in these positions.
 
  #8  
Old 01-07-11, 07:36 AM
CAMINO KID's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Southern Wisconsin
Posts: 354
We always adjusted the units in the shop under a 15 amp draw to run at 62 cycles or 3650 rpms. Your drop is within the tolerance the manufacturer gave us when I was still doing their warranty work two years ago. I would not mess with the govenor as they rarely slip. The phillips screw you show is where you would increase the speed.
 
  #9  
Old 01-09-11, 10:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Thanks for the tips.....I think I will try to re-adjust the linkage mainly since I don't know the total hours on this machine...perhaps there has been some wear and this could take up any slack.

I will set the RPM with a 15A load as well, i'll target 62-63Hz.

We can agree that the governor setup while isn't state of the art...it's fairly reliable and effective. I was able to get a look at the simplicity of it when working on the internals, perhaps very small changes in load may not effect the movement of the linkages.

Ideally, when the generator slows, the weights move the arm to open the throttle, but if there is anyway to change spring tension even the slightest...could this allow for further throttle opening? Seems that at the set RPM, the governor is in one position, I could adjust the idle all day but the arm will move the same amount correct?

So to adventure outside the manual, if I were to drill a small hole in the arm maybe 1/8" closer, would moving the spring have any effect on the RPM? Worst case, I can return to factory settings, but for arguements sake...can this be accomplished in a linear fashion in regards to RPM's?

I understand all motors are different....like condition, efficiency, etc, so the manual basically has the generator running in an ideal fashion. I don't want to make it unsafe....just curious on how to "better" the primitive governing system.

Yes, a nice 50A Honda powered, tri-fuel generator is on my wishlist....just not now.
 
  #10  
Old 01-09-11, 11:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 323
Update..

Using the 240V 4-way Coleman outlet cord, I hooked up the LOML's orange beast hair dryer, and my shop vac. Set Hz to 63 under load and have 119V.

Idling I have 63 HZ and 125V, I have cleaned the contact rings for the brushes, brushes are still good...about 5/8-3/4" long. Is this normal voltage drop while maintaining frequency?

Governor was working very well and I see no need to adjust anything, just curious about voltage.
 
  #11  
Old 01-10-11, 05:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 325
Originally Posted by i6pwr View Post
Update..

Using the 240V 4-way Coleman outlet cord, I hooked up the LOML's orange beast hair dryer, and my shop vac. Set Hz to 63 under load and have 119V.

Idling I have 63 HZ and 125V, I have cleaned the contact rings for the brushes, brushes are still good...about 5/8-3/4" long. Is this normal voltage drop while maintaining frequency?

Governor was working very well and I see no need to adjust anything, just curious about voltage.
Since it's about equally referred to as 115v and 120v I expect your ranges are fine
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes