Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

KingCraft 6000 watt generator


Baida53's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
OH

03-14-11, 07:55 PM   #1  
KingCraft 6000 watt generator

Have purchased a KingCraft 6000 watt generator, it runs fine but stays on high idle even without a load. I called customer service and they told me to adjust the carb. Screw. This idled it down but when you plug something in it does't idle back up. Is there another adjustment for this or is this the nature of this brand. Appreciate any feed back.

 
Sponsored Links
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator

Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 9,607
CANADA

03-15-11, 04:45 AM   #2  
Welcome to our forums!

Are you sure your generator has a low idle system on it?
There is a good chance it doesn't.

This is usually only found on more expensive generators.
Now that you have tampered with the speed setting it will be important that you use either a tachometer or frequency meter to reset the motor speed correctly.


GregH.........HVAC/R Tech

 
LawrenceC's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 217
TN

03-15-11, 09:45 AM   #3  
How close should the frequency be to 60 cps? Is 59 ok, is 61 ok?

 
Search this Thread