Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Piston stuck on middle ring inside cylinder after trying to re-install it.

FL

04-27-11, 10:49 AM   #1  
Piston stuck on middle ring inside cylinder after trying to re-install it.

Pictures:

http://i.imgur.com/4Yhey.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/ZLaGf.jpg

I'm new to engine repair and this is just a cheap lawn mower I am trying to rebuild.

I've taken the piston out of the cylinder to check everything. I used a hose clamp around the 3 rings to compress them and it slide right back in no problem. I then realized that I hadn't aligned the gaps in the piston rings properly and had to take it back out again to fix that. I tried to install it the same way and some how got stuck on the middle ring.

I couldn't push it in or out but it would spin freely. I then tried tapping on it with a rubber mallet to see if it would move in or out. I didn't budge, but now it is completely stuck...it won't even spin inside the cylinder.

It's an aluminum block so I am afraid to damage it by being too rough...perhaps I've already damaged it now that the piston is stuck? What can I do here?

Last edited by kjac3585; 04-27-11 at 11:05 AM.

Sponsored Links

FL

04-27-11, 12:44 PM   #2  
i got it out by gently tapping on the backside of the piston with a metal rod and hammer. I used pb blaster on it as well to help glide it along. Now... does anyone know anything about getting the timing gears right? haha... seriously though, I am stuck on that one as of now.

Forum Topic Moderator

GA

04-27-11, 07:48 PM   #3  
Generally you line up the marked teeth on the cam and crank gear. Knowing what you have would help.

"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

FL

04-27-11, 08:15 PM   #4  
Tecumseh LEV120-361020C