Husqvarna 142e stopped cutting

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-29-11, 07:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Husqvarna 142e stopped cutting

Hi All,
what the heck? It was cutting fine until I tried to cut a friends' tree that might have started to harden like rock.

ANyways, I have sharpened it several times without luck.
Will only cut at the tip of the saw.
Any ideas?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-29-11, 08:11 PM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
Have you adjusted the height of the rakers?? Roger
 
  #3  
Old 06-02-11, 06:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
I am new to owning a chainsaw.
How do I adjust the rackers?
thanks
michel
 
  #4  
Old 06-04-11, 05:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
well, would you believe I went to a Husqvarna dealer and he did not have a raker for my chain. Said he did not know where to get one for my Oregon non-kickback chain. So I gave up and bought a new chain.
I also re-ordered another muffler, 4th in 3 years of light use. They ordered the wrong one, even after putting in the seriel #!! He said they also did not carry a bar mounted guard so the saw doesn't hit the muffler of the 142e. Guess the chainsaw is too cheap to have one?
 
  #5  
Old 06-04-11, 08:24 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
Originally Posted by vtcycle View Post
well, would you believe I went to a Husqvarna dealer and he did not have a raker for my chain. Said he did not know where to get one for my Oregon non-kickback chain. So I gave up and bought a new chain.
I also re-ordered another muffler, 4th in 3 years of light use. They ordered the wrong one, even after putting in the seriel #!! He said they also did not carry a bar mounted guard so the saw doesn't hit the muffler of the 142e. Guess the chainsaw is too cheap to have one?
vtcycle;
I think the dealer was pulling your leg so to speak, although they may have many names rakers control the bite of the chain, if not filed down when sharpening the chain they will eventually not let the cutting edge touch the wood and you will get fine sawdust, below is a link that has more info. Have a good one. Geo
Chainsaw Chain, Sawchain information for Chainsaw Mills from Procut Sawmills
 
  #6  
Old 06-07-11, 09:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Thank you Geo,
I think I got it now.
michel
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes