Ryobi 725r won't stay running, and when it does the it goes real fast

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-20-11, 08:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Exclamation Ryobi 725r won't stay running, and when it does the it goes real fast

I am ready to trash this thing it is driving me nuts.

It takes a while to get it started, when I do get it started, when I give it gas it dies. I have to play with the choke switch to get it to rev up and let me use it. Also when it does start, the line starts spinning right away, I don't even have to press the trigger.

When my husband replace the fuel line it would leak all over me when I would use it. I sealed it around the hose and now it doesn't leak, or at least very little now. Shouldn't the hose be tight so it does not leak?

Even after I get it going, use it for a while, at least 10-15 minutes it will die again, and it is horrible to get started again, I figured since it was already warm it should pop off right away. Sometimes I have to let it sit for a while; cause my arm is tired from pulling it; and then it might start. I have to pump the ball and put the choke lever down again.

Help, what do you think. I figure it has to be something with the carb. We re-built is a year or so ago and it seemed to run better then.

ibshopin
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-20-11, 09:02 AM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: bond county illinois
Posts: 170
sounds like the carb again needs rebuilding and make sure you have the right size fuel line also.The carb needs to be able to get fuel from the tank and any leak or looseness in the fuel line will not let it get enough fuel to stay running correctly.When usin it the engine will sometimes be off level so to speak and I don't think it's getting enough fuel.
 
  #3  
Old 07-20-11, 10:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
That's kinda what I thought. If, I mean when I put a new fuel line in, is there anyway just to adjust the carb. or do you think it will need to be rebuilt again?

When I start it the line starts spinning right away with out even giving it any gas, why would that happen?
 
  #4  
Old 07-20-11, 10:18 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,575
The idle speed being too high would make the trimmer head spin.
 
  #5  
Old 07-21-11, 09:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Could that be part of the reason it won't stay running to?

Also, why is it when I am using it, say for 10 min. it will just quit, and I would figure it would start right back up again. But I can pull, and pull and it takes forever to start again. I have to play with the choke to finally get it started.
 
  #6  
Old 07-22-11, 07:55 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,575
It's a carb problem. I don't know if it needs to be rebuilt again. You'll have to open it up and see.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 PM.