Flash generator


  #1  
Old 09-27-11, 09:26 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 372
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Flash generator

I have seen this in more then one post with generator problems. I was wondering just what flashing a generator is. Is this something they all need from time to time. I have had mine 11 years, maybe 500 hours on it, and only changed the oil and spark plug.
 
  #2  
Old 09-27-11, 09:54 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,159
Received 69 Votes on 61 Posts
Its only if then gen is not producing power from sitting for a long time.

If that happens you need to induce voltage to the rotor windings of the generator.

There are a few ways to accomplish this.

Mike NJ
 
  #3  
Old 09-28-11, 10:35 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 372
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That doesn't sound very good at all. Is it a good idea to start it now and then so this doesn't happen. I sure would hate to get caught without power when I needed it.

Thanks for your answer
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-11, 07:08 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,110
Received 873 Votes on 803 Posts
I have four generators and have never had to flash one. Two of the generators gets used at least once a month, one is used every couple months and one (PTO powered) sits for years without being run. They have all worked and have not needed flashing.

If your generator is gasoline powered you need to fully winterize it if it will be sitting long term without being used. Otherwise I'd run it at least once a month for 20-30 minutes with some load. This is more for the engine and not the generator but it does both some good.
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-11, 01:01 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 372
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I use to use it all the time. When I bought the house, the garage didn't have any power, and gas was only $2.50, and my service entrance wasn't really big enough for the house, and power my toys in the garage. Then gas started going higher and higher, and I got a bigger service entrance installed. Now it just get run when needed, or once a month for awhile, to make sure it will start when needed.

Thanks for all the help, it looks like I should be safe.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: