Electric starter motor has dead spot

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-14-11, 05:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 72
Question Electric starter motor has dead spot

The electric starter motor would not start
I removed it and took it apart
The only thing I found wasthat the armature was black from the Carbon brushes that were only haft woren I cleaned the armature
Reasembled it started as soon as I pluged it on
I did this several times then it wood not start
I rotated the armatute by hand pluged it in and it started
Every time it stoped starting I rotated it and it would start
Does anyone know how to detect where the dead spot can be found

Petrie
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-14-11, 05:54 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,763
Look at the where the brushes contact the commutator. Use a volt meter or continuity tester and touch your test probes to the pads exactly on the opposite (180 degrees) side. You should get continuity if the wiring is intact. If you find a pair that does not have continuity the wire is broken somewhere. Or, take it to a motor or alternator repair shop.
 
  #3  
Old 10-14-11, 06:27 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
By you stating you "plugged it in" then you obviously have a 120V starter...correct? What make engine? Even if you find a "dead" spot, you will not be able to do a DIY repair, you'll have to replace the armature. Post back with information useful to determining what you have specifically and we can send you in the right direction.
 
  #4  
Old 10-14-11, 11:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 72
You are right Puey61 it is a 120V starter Tecumseh Motor #335119
It is from my 8Hp crafman sonwblower
 
  #5  
Old 10-15-11, 05:16 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Are you saying that as soon as you plug in the extension cord the starter engages...even before you depress the starter button? If so, that would indicate you have a defective button box. The number you gave is not a Tecumseh part number, where did you find that number?
 
  #6  
Old 10-16-11, 04:31 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ottawa Canada
Posts: 72
Hi Puey61
There is no button box it has been removed
There is a male plug on the end of the motor cord.
I got the number right off the starter moter

Thanks every one for your info
Petrie
 
  #7  
Old 10-17-11, 06:34 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Petrie, even with aftermarket starters - which i believe you have - there should be a starter button. Someone must have fouled with this and, as a result, I'll bet you have a starter in need of replacement, as I doubt you'll find repair parts for an aftermarket. Post back with the engine ID numbers...should start out with 143, being a Craftsman.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes