Craftsman II Riding Mower won't start


  #1  
Old 10-24-11, 08:39 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Craftsman II Riding Mower won't start

I have a Craftsman II model 917.254520 that won't start. When I turn the key nothing happens; every once in awhile like when I disconnect & reconnect something there will be one click when I turn the key. Starter does not engage though.

First I tried another battery that I know works--same problem, and I later found that my battery is good. I'm getting 12V to the solenoid. Tried to jump the solenoid with a screwdriver and nothing happend so I started more testing. When I turn the key I'm getting 12V to the other side of the solenoid and to the starter. I assumed I had a bad starter and purchased a new one. Same thing...no start. I bench tested the new starter and it works.

I assume the problem might be a ground somewhere but I'm not sure how I would test for this. Is there a way to jump from the battery right to the starter (i.e. where's the ground wire go)?
 
  #2  
Old 10-24-11, 10:01 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Basically you did just jump directly to the starter from the battery - you placed a screwdriver between the two heavy posts. Check your ground cable from the battery post to where it attaches to the frame of the mower; I'll bet you need to clean this up and you'll be good.
 
  #3  
Old 11-17-11, 09:13 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just wanted to let you know that you were correct. I took some sandpaper to some of the ground terminals and it started right up even though they looked pretty clean.
 
  #4  
Old 11-17-11, 10:13 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Good news and thanks for updating your thread.
 
  #5  
Old 11-18-11, 03:15 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You might want to try replacing the old plug with a new,... you can fold a dollar in half for gap thats close enough
 
  #6  
Old 11-18-11, 06:20 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,600
Received 54 Votes on 49 Posts
Actually, it would take several dollar bills folded in half to gap a spark plug sufficiently. It should be set at .030". Replacing a spark plug won't do anything to help an engine that the starter doesn't work though.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: