New Generac Generator question..

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-11-11, 06:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Question New Generac Generator question..

I Just baught a Generac 5500 watt generator. I followed all the insructions for start up and it started on the first pull..But after 2min or so it started to pulse up and down and you can see the linkage moving back and forth causeing the pulse. If i put my finger on the linkage and stop it from moving the engine smooths out..Is this supposed to happen?Like i said its only ran for 10 mins so far..Will it smooth out with a load on it?

Thank's...
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-11-11, 07:06 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Did you put oil in it? I only ask because they dont come with oil in them and I know a lot of people that have done that.

Some units have low oil sensor that will shut it down anyway.

Just a thought.

How much gas did you add? Those tanks are like 4 gallons on some and if you just put a spit in it may not get to the carb.

Other then that if its new then dont mess with it. Let the warranty take care of it. Bring it back if you have to.


It should be running at a steady state. Like 3600 rpm. Possibly a spring broke off the governor.

Mike NJ
 
  #3  
Old 12-11-11, 07:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Yeah i put the oil that came with it in the engine..I only put about a half gallon of gas in it cause i just wanted to see that it ran and was putting out voltage witch it is..There are two springs on the linkage that look like they are where they are supossd to be..Strange, it was smooth for the first two min. Gas is new.. Maybe i need to let it run longer......
 
  #4  
Old 12-11-11, 09:31 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Does it run better with the choke closed a bit?

Mike NJ
 
  #5  
Old 12-12-11, 04:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 98
I will try that when i get home..

Also i want to add that there isnt any load on it while it's doing this..Maybe it will smooth out when there is a load on it? I never owned a generator before so i dont know if thats the case...

Thank's...
 

Last edited by Slugworth; 12-12-11 at 04:53 AM.
  #6  
Old 12-12-11, 05:45 AM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Yeah it should not run like that. I am thinking a piece a crude in the carb.

Let us know how it runs choked.

Mike NJ
 

Last edited by lawrosa; 12-12-11 at 07:00 AM.
  #7  
Old 12-12-11, 05:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Originally Posted by lawrosa View Post
Yeah it should not run like that. I am thinking a oiece a crude in the carb.

Let is know how it runs choked.

Mike NJ
Will do..

Figures i would get a bran new one with crud in the carb!!

lol...
 
  #8  
Old 12-12-11, 07:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 98
So i started my generator back up tonight and it was smooth for a minute or so then started to pluse up and down again..So i closed the choke abit and it smoothed out nice....So i opened it back up and it went back to the pluseing till i put a load on it. I hooked up a 1500watt heater to it and it smoothed out with no choke. Turn the heater off and the pluse returns, back on smooths out...So i quess its running fine
 
  #9  
Old 12-12-11, 07:40 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Not really. A load on it just raises the throttle adding fuel. Choking it does the same.

Its a motor. It should not pulsate. Does your lawn mower pulsate? Snowblower?

There is a engine guy on here named cheese. Hopefully he will chime in. But I think there is crude in the card.

Its new and under warranty. But if it were me I would probably drop the float and have a look at the jet.

Mike NJ
 
  #10  
Old 12-12-11, 11:54 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
It's a sign of lean running (not getting quite enough fuel). These newer engines are set to run so lean to meet EPA requirements and aren't adjustable. Lately I've heard of manufacturers claiming the surge is normal and since it disappears under a load, not to worry about it. That's not correct. It might be a common problem, but it's not normal. It wears the throttle shaft out and is hard on the engine. Every acceleration puts more stress on the internal parts than if it were running steady. I'd get it warrantied. I haven't looked hard enough at the newer generac engines, but I'm pretty sure they are chinese made engines. The fact that they seem to beat around the bush about exactly what they are pretty much solidifies it to me. (if the engines were made here in a "generac" facility,it would be a big selling point in their sales pitch). You might just contact the company and request another carburetor... not sure if they'll do that or not.
 
  #11  
Old 12-13-11, 06:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 98
Good points!!!

I will call Generac tonight and see what they want me to do...

Thank's again...
 
  #12  
Old 12-13-11, 06:14 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
I agree with Cheese completely! I know of three companies that say, on paper, that it is "normal" for an engine to hunt (surge) without a load - LCT, MTD and Toro. Well, this is not normal and is, exactly as Cheese pointed out, too lean, in order to meet government requirements on VOC's spewed out the exhaust to the atmosphere. I doubt a new carburetor will take care of your trouble; a richer jet, typically on the low speed circuit, is what is needed but you will not find any one of the manufacturers supplying any such jetting. So, you need to figure it out beyond that.
 
  #13  
Old 12-13-11, 08:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 98
So they will prolly tell me it's normal then.
 
  #14  
Old 12-14-11, 12:29 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,814
They might try to, but don't accept that answer.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes