Sears Craftsman Tecumseh Snowblower will not start.... please Help

Closed Thread

Old 12-17-11, 05:20 PM
Sears Craftsman Tecumseh Snowblower will not start.... please Help

I own a 2 year old Craftsman Tecumseh Snow King Snow Blower that won't start now. I will admit that after searching and reading many threads on this forum I have learned a lot in the last few days from all the experts here. I'm a big DIY'er but don't claim to be an expert, but you gotta learn somehow right. I'm actually a Doctor so I fix people.

Model Number: Sears Craftsman 247.887900
Engine # : LH318SA-156554

So this is what I've done so far. Replace spark plug but no luck. I then poured a cap full of gas into the spark plug hole and I noticed it would leak and spill out by the carburetor. Threw the new plug back in and tried to start it with the electrical starter but it would still not start. I however had a few shots of back fire episodes with a small blue flame through the exhaust that scared the living crap out of me. Lol. Assuming that I saw it misfiring I knew that my spark plug was working and igniting. Or am I wrong to assume that?

I've purchased a carb rebuild kit along with a new float bowl and replaced the gasket, float needle and pin and sprayed some carb cleaner in all the holes of the carb w/o removing the carburetor off the machine. However it still won't start. Now I was thinking to just replace the carburetor because I don't have too much time on my hands to sit there and do a rebuild but wanted to ask you guys first? Anything else I should do first?

Also would you buy a Original Tecumseh Carburetor for $75 or an Oregon one for $30? I rather get the cheaper one obviously.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 12-17-11, 09:19 PM