Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Yard Machine 139cc snoblower, no power!


spielesmd's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
IL

01-16-12, 09:33 AM   #1  
Yard Machine 139cc snoblower, no power!

The machine starts fine, and stays running. When I try to move any snow the snow comes out of the chute with no force, it piles up on top and maybe goes 3-5ft. How do I increase the power or repair the throttle?

Everything seems fine, but I know there should be more power. It doesn't surge, the level stays constant, however when I adjust the choke lever there is no change in power, noise, throttle, anything. If I set the lever to full choke it does shut down the machine.

Any help appreciated.

 
Sponsored Links
Pilot Dane's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16,676
NC

01-16-12, 10:00 AM   #2  
If every indication you have is that the unit is working properly maybe that's all it is capable of? Single stage blower machines do not have the performance of more expensive two stage models, especially with wet or heavy snow.

 
spielesmd's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
IL

01-16-12, 11:11 AM   #3  
There is a massive change from last year. It ran fine and strong last year. Someone mentioned there may be a pin or screw that needs to be tightened, I am just not experienced with where to begin to look. I have taken off the top cover and can see there is a L shaped throttle control with springs that seems to be in order under the choke control arm, however nothing I do will make that lever move other than fidgeting with it by hand.

Also it threw the snow about 20 feet last year.


Last edited by spielesmd; 01-16-12 at 12:02 PM.
 
Pilot Dane's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16,676
NC

01-16-12, 12:06 PM   #4  
Does it sound like it is getting to the full rpm that it did last year? If it sounds like it's running slow, which could explain less power and not throwing snow as far, it could be a simple throttle cable adjustment. You want to make sure that the throttle butterfly in the carburetor is fully open when you have the throttle on high. Sometimes if the cable slips moving the lever will only open the carb. up to partial throttle. Look for a screw where the throttle cable meets the carburetor. If it came loose it could have let the cable slip.

 
spielesmd's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
IL

01-16-12, 12:40 PM   #5  
Its definitely not getting to the samr rpm as last year. I was told it needs the throttle cable adjustment. Thats what I'm missing is that screw where the throttle meets the carb. Thanks very much Pilot Dane! This is my first time attempting to do something myself, and I think I'm over my head already. Whatever it is it definitely came loose. Now to locate exactly where it is and what I'm looking for. Do I need to remove the carburetor?

 
Pilot Dane's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16,676
NC

01-17-12, 04:29 AM   #6  
No, you should not have to remove the carburetor. What is the model number of your snow blower? I want to look up the parts diagram to see what you need.

 
spielesmd's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
IL

01-17-12, 05:54 AM   #7  
It's a Yard Machine 21" 139cc 2 cycle. The model number is 31as231729.

 
Pilot Dane's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16,676
NC

01-17-12, 08:15 AM   #8  
I am not finding any parts diagrams for that model that show how the cable attaches to the carb. Hopefully the bolt and clamp are still on your blower, just loose. Worst case they are are very inexpensive parts.

 
spielesmd's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
IL

01-17-12, 09:27 AM   #9  
Yeah I give up, I'm calling for reinforcements. I'm gonna have a friend take a look, if he can't figure it out I will be donating to the local economy. I appreciate the help and patience. My mechanical ineptitude knows no bounds.

 
Search this Thread