Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Mantis 2 cycle tiller - no fuel from gas tank


Stumped1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 930
CAL

06-24-12, 06:02 PM   #1  
Mantis 2 cycle tiller - no fuel from gas tank

Replaced fuel line and fuel filter and still get no fuel out of line. Removed gas cap to see if it would flow and still no fuel.

tested for fuel with fuel line removed from carb and still nothing.

 
Sponsored Links
Stumped1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 930
CAL

06-25-12, 06:22 PM   #2  
Fuel is now flowing. Guess it just takes a while to begin to flow through new fuel filter. Still not starting. Must have put something in wrong when I did the carb rebuild. Will give it another shot.

 
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 11,829
MN

06-25-12, 06:55 PM   #3  
Try putting a little gas down the carb venturi. (sp)


Electrical AC/DC and lighting Moderator
Professional Electrician, Handyman, all around swell guy!
40,000 people die in auto accidents per year in the US. We should ban cars.

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,574
GA

06-25-12, 07:01 PM   #4  
Does it have a primer? _________


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
Stumped1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 930
CAL

06-25-12, 08:48 PM   #5  
It does not have a primer it is realy old. Opened it up and it clearly is flooded. When I changed the hose the replacement I put on is a bit larger. My guess is that the fuel is flowing faster than the carb is designed for.

I will put the correct hose and see if this improves.

It did rumble then stoppped immediately.

 
Stumped1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 930
CAL

06-26-12, 07:30 PM   #6  
Had incorrectly installed some carb gaskets. It runs but only when choked with a little gas. Open choke and it stalls out under load.

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,574
GA

06-26-12, 07:35 PM   #7  
Does this have adjustable high and low speeds screws?


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
Stumped1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 930
CAL

06-26-12, 08:25 PM   #8  
Yes.

I pulled the air filter and it is filthy. Does not look like it is even a proper filter, looks like the previous owner fabricated it.

I will order the correct filter to see if this helps. Read other posts that said this could contribute to stall out under load.

 
Stumped1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 930
CAL

06-27-12, 08:32 PM   #9  
Got it running at a good idle and accelerating BUT then a new problem! The kill switch is dead and I couldn't shut it off without closing the adjusting screws.

I have a spare coil. Should I swap it out before buying a new switch?


Last edited by Stumped1; 06-27-12 at 08:55 PM.
 
Stumped1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 930
CAL

06-28-12, 08:21 PM   #10  
Tried the adjustments to the high and low speed screws I read in other posts. I can close the high speed screw all the way and the tiller still runs.

noticed today that the insulator (piece between carb and engine) is cracked. Repair shop says this will impact performance and may be related to stalling problem .

Hard part to find so I tried sealing the crack with some epoxy. Hopefully this will hold and close the air leak.

 
Search this Thread