Craftsman Lawnmower won't stay running after I...

Old 07-07-12, 07:22 AM
Craftsman Lawnmower won't stay running after I...

1. waited four weeks and replaced the carb (Tecumesh)
2. Used new fresh fuel
3. changed oil
4. changed spark plug
5. removed carb to check gaskets.
6. ensured choke was open

It starts up on a first crank but won't continue. If I use starter fluid, I can keep it running but of course it wants to die. checked fuel bowl and it was full...not sure what to check next.

Sponsored Links
Old 07-07-12, 08:40 AM
Post the mower and engine model numbers so we know which one you have. Have a good one. Geo

Old 07-07-12, 09:20 AM
I am not a professional small engine mechanic but but I seem to be able to get almost any machine running as long as there is compression. I guess that's why a lot of people keep bringing me machines to fix and almost always it is a methanol/gas caused problem. Usually it's the fuel line, primer bulb or some gasket that has been ruined by the methanol. That or they let it sit all winter long with gas in it.
Here is what my experience has taught me.
The gas/methanol thing is really messing up a of of machines. For myself, I buy mid-grade gas and use stabilizer but even with stabilizer I don't keep it too long. Three weeks, tops. I could probably keep it a lot longer but I never have fuel related problems. Ever. And for pre-mix, if I can't remember when I mixed it, I toss it.

New carburetor or not, here is what I would do.
First, let me ask, has it been a while since you've run the mower?
Will it keep running with the choke partially closed?
Maybe with your hand over the intake does it keep running?
That says that it is taking a lot of vacuum to suck fuel through your carburetor because of a plugged passageway somewhere. You say that the bowl fills up normally?

These are some of the things I would be doing.