Tecumseh Model: OV358EA Rocker Arm/Valves

Old 07-13-12, 08:41 AM
Smile Tecumseh Model: OV358EA Rocker Arm/Valves

Hi,
I want you give you as much information as I can to help you help me . I hope this all makes since I bought a generator that looks new and has been sitting in a garage for several years. It would not start so I cleaned out the old gas and did find some rust in the gas tank, I cleaned out the carb too. It started up and I ran it 10-15 mins and I then plugged everything in and it was still working fine. We went to the store and came back and it was not running and I could not get it to start at all. I took off the OHV cover and seen the Rocker arm broken so I called around to order one and ask it they know what might have caused it and everyone I called said no that was odd. I bought 2 because they were cheep ($5.50) and now I am glad I did. I put it on and tried to start it and watched the rocker arm break . (This might be some helpful info too, I am new at this) I noticed how the other one worked and tried to push the top one down and it would not move at all so I figured that was my next problem so I look it up and found it was an “Intake Valve”. I took everything apart and found that the “Exhaust Valve” I could push down and it would work. The piston seams to move up and down fine but the top is black (See pics)
Here are my questions:
    1. What could have caused the valve to stick/lockup? (is there something else I need to check)
    2. How do I clean all the black stuff off the piston or do I leave it?
    3. How do I clean the head area (if that’s want it is called J) where the valves are at?
    4. How do I replace the valves? Not sure how to remove the spring.
    5. Now that I have removed the “Rocker Arm Studs” how will I know how tight?
    6. When I removed the OHV cover where the rocker arms are at should it have been full of oil?

Thanks for you help,
    John

Attached Images