Craftsman rider - no spark

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-10-12, 10:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 383
Craftsman rider - no spark

Craftsman 917-271011 rider with a Kohler 15.5 hp engine. This has the "C" operator presence system with two relays. I cannot get spark at the plug. If I unhook the kill wire from the coil I get spark. Plug it back in no spark. I have tried changing both relays and still no spark. I have the parking brake locked on. I can hear the fuel solenoid clicking when I turn the key. I have tested the seat switch off the tractor with a multimeter and it tests ok although the parking brake being set should override the seat switch. Where else should I be checking - thank you in advance. Just a note here -- I did not use the 109748x relays, I went to autozone and picked up two generic type five pin relays. I thought all relays were pretty much the same.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-10-12, 12:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 383
Well it seems not all relays are alike. I took the original apart and noticed a broken wire. I forced the contact switch cloased, turned the key and got spark. I ordered the correct relay.
 
  #3  
Old 08-10-12, 08:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 325
did you possibly reverse the normal open /normal close connections on the autozone relays?
 
  #4  
Old 08-11-12, 04:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 383
38racing - the original relay was a normally open type. The one I bought was a normally closed. I could have changed the wiring however I decided to leave it in the original configuration. I document everything I work on however changing the wiring would have probably drove the next guy who had to work on it crazy.
 
  #5  
Old 08-11-12, 05:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 325
An automotive relay I bought recently (5 terminal) can be wired for either NO or NC depending on what you need it to do. Just a matter of changing wire from 1 terminal to another.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes