John Deere walk behind mower. Need Electrical help, wont get power to Start Sol

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-25-12, 10:56 AM
hoary's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Alabama USA
Posts: 103
Red face John Deere walk behind mower. Need Electrical help, wont get power to Start Sol


I should be able to figure this out, but so far "NOT".

14 Hp Common (not sure of the last two digits)
GX1320X051258

This is a big Mower. Huge! But the owner likes it.

Anybody have a Schematic of the start sequence?
How to cheat the Safety features (for trouble shooting only)
J.D. Keeps all that stuff to themselves I'm told.
But I need some help pretty quick.
Thanks....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-25-12, 01:54 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,813
Test the connectors in the safety switches with an ohmmeter to see which one isn't working if any. Do you have power on the S terminal of the keyswitch when trying to start it?
 
  #3  
Old 08-25-12, 05:44 PM
hoary's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Alabama USA
Posts: 103
This is a Sad Story.
It's been "outboard wired" to get the Starter/Ignition to work.
Then they started on the Power Takeoff clutch and burned the Relay.
So they "outboard wired" around that little problem.

Now, the Owner wants it all back the way it should be.
So far, I need the Schematic showing the Battery, wiring to the Ign' switch and back to the PTO Clutch.

We know the Clutch works, in fact everything works. The problem is the wiring has been changed, a Push button start switch added, and a wire with a Diode is dangling.
Have you ever heard of such a mess?
I'll bet these guys couldn't go to the Toilet without going around some of the process!
 
  #4  
Old 08-26-12, 12:37 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,813
I hate when they come like that and someone wants it back right. They often change their mind when you tell them how many hours they will be charged for it. When they're like that, a new wiring harness may be the only way to put it back right.
 
  #5  
Old 08-26-12, 08:25 AM
hoary's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Alabama USA
Posts: 103
Thanks,
I'll need a Schemetic.
They've added in a Push button for the starter, but left out the +12 to the Ign Switch.
I brought +12 to the Switch, and immediatly a Relay began to burn.
It's a Smokey problem now!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes