Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Generac 10kw with 18hp Briggs


labruce's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
LA

09-19-12, 08:03 PM   #1  
Generac 10kw with 18hp Briggs

Hi there,
My generator puts out 99 volts with a full load and has 60 hertz.
I had my 12,000 btu window ac and 2 tv's several lights and 4 fans running at the time with my 2 refrigerators and 1 freezer. I was checking the voltage inside the house and found it to be low at 99 volts which I also checked at the generator outlets as well. My neighbor fortunately had a Hertz meter to check the cycles. I checked his generator voltage with my meter and he had about 130 volts at the outlet. I want to know if you can point me in the right direction to troubleshoot and repair this problem.
I was lucky to not have damaged anything in the house.
The unit m/n for the engine is 350445 type 1401-e1 and the gen m/n is 09801rev09.
Thanks!

 
Sponsored Links
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32,377
TX

09-19-12, 08:30 PM   #2  
Are you using a transfer panel or just plugging in extension cords. If extension cords how many receptacles are you using? What is the voltage no load? To me it sounds like you overloaded it with 120 volt loads. Are you sure the full 10Kw is available for 120 volt loads or is part of it for 240 volt loads?


I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.

 
labruce's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
LA

09-19-12, 11:26 PM   #3  
Generac 10kw with 18 hp briggs

I am using the 50 amp circuit feeding the panel which feeds certain ckts in my house. I will have to check on the output without a load but at this point I have checked the voltage with a load at the generator and the voltage is the same as in the house at about 99 volts. I am not sure if I have all the 10kw available ( not sure how to verify). I haven't used this generator that much but when I did use it before this last time it worked great and I had all the power I needed. I mean I could wash and dry clothes without any problems. If I did overload the generator how can I verify that and what are my options?
Thank you for the quick response.

 
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator

Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 32,377
TX

09-20-12, 07:16 AM   #4  
Not an expert on this but I would start with measuring the no load voltage and if ~ 120-125 volts start adding things one at a time and measuring the voltage after adding each load. Of course if no load is 99 volts then you do have a problem with the generator.


I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.

 
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 17,607
NJ

09-20-12, 08:05 AM   #5  
Read this. It sounds like a stuck brush or glazed slip ring. That is if the power fluctuates

But it the power is steady at the low voltage its a winding issue. A motor shop can test this.

How new is the unit? Any warranty?

Generator low voltage (John De Armond)


Mike NJ




"The problems that exist in the world today cannot be solved by the level of thinking that created them".


- Albert Einstein



 
labruce's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
LA

09-23-12, 11:12 PM   #6  
Thanks for the response.
Unit is 8 years old, no warranty. I tried manually adjusting engine speed and the voltage went to 125 volts. Trying to locate RPM monitor to verify RPM's. The hertz went up to 62 cycles when I tried this. Under no load the vlotage is the same. Have a nice day! Thanks again.

 
raywbo's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
CT

09-25-12, 05:09 AM   #7  
Hi There,
Don't adjust your engine speed for more voltage! It needs to be set at 3600 rpm to output 60 hertz. I have a Generac 10000 EXL and had a voltage problem, and it turned out to be the main board. Before doing anything else, there is a voltage adjustment screw on the main board - it's basically a dashpot. Look for a hole on the area of the outlets - mine was on the left side near the bottom. You can insert a small screwdriver and try adjusting while monitoring with your voltage meter. You should also be sure you have the engine back to 3600 rpm - you don't need a tachometer, just adjust the speed to output 60 hertz.

There is also a voltage regulator on the generator head where the wires come out and feed the system board. This is the cheapest of the 2 parts @$60.00. The system board is about $250.00 but looks like its worth $2. I had a problem during an 8 day outage and just replaced both and it solved my problem.

 
Search this Thread