Portable gas generator

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-27-12, 12:30 PM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,215
Portable gas generator

I'm researching portable gas generators,and came across a Generac Model GP6500 E that i like.
Hoping the portable generator folks here will chime in with
good/bad comments. Thanks

daswede
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-27-12, 01:29 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Here is the spec sheet..... Why do you like this one?

http://www.generac.com/SpecSheets/01...6500E_5941.pdf

If it were myself I would prefer a unit with a 120/240 ---120 only outlets so you can use both windings at max amps at 120v. Has selector switch.

They only have two that do that.

xp 4000

http://www.generac.com/SpecSheets/0196510SBY_XP4000.pdf

xp 6500E

http://www.generac.com/SpecSheets/01...BY_XP6500E.pdf

The other two larger in the xp series dont have the switch but I assume the 120v only outlet is hard wired using both windings.

You have 240 loads?
 
  #3  
Old 11-27-12, 01:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
It would be helpful if you can post how you're going to use this.

Is this for backup power to your home? If so, are you going to use extension cords to power a few lights and appliances, or are you going to have it connected via an interlock kit or via a transfer switch to give you broader power use in your home during an outage?

Or are you buying this for portable power?

Or both?

The more specifics you can provide, including what circuits, appliances or equipment you intend to power with it, the better. Some generators are great for one purpose, and terrible for another,and vice versa.
 
  #4  
Old 11-27-12, 03:53 PM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,215
Thanks placekicker, and lawrosa for your replies.

This model was recommended by electrician i contacted. The generator would be wired in with a manual 10 circuit transfer switch,30 amp power outlet box,and 25' 30 amp. cord.

This Generac GP6500E has one 120/240 outlet,and four 120 outlets.

This generator would be for back up in power outages.
 
  #5  
Old 11-27-12, 04:08 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Any 240 loads?

What do you want to power?
 
  #6  
Old 11-27-12, 05:09 PM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,215
I don't plan on using any 240.

I would want to power the refrigerate, small dorm refrigerator,small microwave,large TV, 4-5 lamps of 60-100 watts,small radio.

no pumps,electric stoves,or water heater

I guess i would be limited to the transfer switches. Any suggestions would be appreciated
 
  #7  
Old 11-30-12, 01:19 PM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,215
Update:

I contacted a local installer, and got a quote.

Install a Generac GP6500E,assembled and tested .supply and install a 10 circuit manual transfer switch. Supply and install a 30 Amp power outlet box out.
Supply a 25' 30 amp cord. parts and labor `$2100.

Comments please
 
  #8  
Old 11-30-12, 03:05 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
parts and labor `$2100.
I may find that hard to believe, but it may be true. What type of installer?

From my calculations the gen is at least 1K. The switch and such is at least $500.

6 hours at $100 an hour.... $2100...

Get a permit and its a great deal IMO.

But I dont think you need a gen that big. I am infactuated with 120 only gens.
 
  #9  
Old 11-30-12, 03:26 PM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,215
He is a licensed Heating installer heat.

I thought it was a pretty good price to,but wanted to run it by you "experts".

My next concern is some type of housing over the unit. Here in the snowy/rainy
Northeast is a big concern for equipment to be outside.
 
  #10  
Old 11-30-12, 04:14 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
Yeah any enclosures are like 1K plus.

Best off buying a dog house or something.

I put mine in the shed during sandy....
 
  #11  
Old 11-30-12, 09:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,128
lawrosa.....there is a guy here in Jersey doing the same deal and price.
 
  #12  
Old 12-01-12, 06:34 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Keeping your generator dry is important. They're not designed to get rained or snowed on or ice-stormed on. There's a good chance that when the power goes out, the weather will be miserable. It's also nice to have your generator installed in a permanent place, assuming you don't live in a place where it's likely to get stolen. Wheeling it out during a storm in the dark is a pain (power failures always seem to start in the dark for me).

I built a 5' by 5' by 5' enclosure (see this post, comment #19):

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ou...ator-rain.html

I've added additional vents since the pictures were taken.

It was a lot more work than I thought it would be, however. You could buy a utility shed and add ventilation or buy some other type of enclosure. Bear in mind that the generator you're buying is air cooled and also needs fresh air to run, so if you go with a utility shed, you'll be best off running it with the doors open and fans to blow the exhaust out the vent, or some type of hose that will vent the exhaust directly from the exhaust pipe outside of the shed.

If you want to go with something temporary, for most storms, a 4 by 8 sheet of plywood suspended on sawhorses or cinder blocks will keep it dry. That way it will get plenty of air. Just make sure it is locked, because these things do get stolen during long outages.
 
  #13  
Old 12-04-12, 01:13 PM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,215
I appreciate everyones input here. Great suggestions,especially the saw horse and plywood trick.

Many thanks to all

daswede
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes