Snowblower Toro 521 will not go into drive

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-14-13, 06:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Snowblower Toro 521 will not go into drive


I have a Toro 521 Snowblower, Model 38052, Serial 9017024.
The machine will not go into drive and I'm looking for advice.
The machine otherwise runs like a champ.

I'm hoping there are some simple things I can do/check prior to something more major.




 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-14-13, 10:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,074
Good machine. I have one from the 80's. Still going strong.

The selector wont go into drive or it does but the machine just doesn't move ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-13, 11:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Snowblower Toro 521 will not go into drive

The self propel does not work when handle lever is engaged. Belt is on and in decent shape
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-13, 11:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,074
Did you remove the rear cover. It uses a friction plate drive system.
See if the drive is engaging the plate when the handle is pulled.

Part 36 is the drive plate.
Parts and Diagrams for Toro Consumer 38052, 521 Snowthrower
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-13, 11:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
.......and machine won't move.
 
  #6  
Old 12-28-13, 11:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
I did remove the cover and the friction plate does engage and the wheels move. But if I hold the machine back slightly the wheels stop and so does the traction belt. The belt also seems to be a bit loose. Do I need to replace the traction belt 37-9090?
 
  #7  
Old 12-28-13, 12:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
PJ, just curious if you're still out there?
 
  #8  
Old 12-28-13, 03:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 45,074
I'm here Dan.

You may have a stretched belt.
The drive is also adjustable where the arm comes out the rear by the plate.

I've only changed the belts twice in all the years I've had it.
 
  #9  
Old 12-28-13, 03:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
I know nothing about this product, however some things are universal,with that said, maybe the pulley is worn, check the that the belt is fitting in the pulley and not bottoming out, if the bottom of the pulley wedge is shiny then the belt is not making proper contact. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #10  
Old 12-29-13, 07:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
I'm guessing at a minimum the belt is stretched/loose. I did tighten up the adjustment on the lever arm to maximize contact with the friction wheel and plate.
Does anyone know of any belt replacement videos to view?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes