Mower "tune up" question.


  #1  
Old 03-01-13, 08:34 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mower "tune up" question.

Ok, so it that time again, I am about to get my machine out of storage and ready to go. At the end of last season, I know that I should have changed the oil before storing, but did not. So my question is:

Should I change the oil now, without starting the mower, or should I start it first let it run for a few minutes then change the oil?

And what am I risking by changing the oil without starting up the mower?
 
  #2  
Old 03-01-13, 09:48 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 17,603
Received 54 Votes on 49 Posts
Start the mower and use it one time. The sediment in the oil settles out to the bottom over periods of non-use. You want to stir this sediment up as much as you can and have it suspended in the oil before you drain it.
 
  #3  
Old 03-01-13, 09:54 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,112
Received 72 Votes on 65 Posts
Assuming that you change it on a reasonable frequency, I would start it, let it warm up, in order to get any contaminates moving, and then change it. Personally, that's typically the way that I do my mower, rototiller, weed whackers, and other seasonal equipment; change it at the beginning of the season, rather than the end, so that I am draining any condensation that may have formed while it was sleeping.
 
  #4  
Old 03-01-13, 09:56 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,110
Received 873 Votes on 803 Posts
I like to star the engine and let it run until I can feel the oil pan getting good and warm. Like Cheese said you want to stir everything up and get it in suspension in the oil. Then I shut the engine off and immediately drain the oil, trying to get it out before the crud can settle. The key is getting the oil warm but not so hot that it burns your hand.
 
  #5  
Old 03-01-13, 10:46 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: usa
Posts: 60
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok thanks guys. does anyone here reuse the air filter?. I bought new, but it was brought to my attention that they can be reused after being washed out with dish washing detergent.
 
  #6  
Old 03-01-13, 10:49 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,110
Received 873 Votes on 803 Posts
It depends on the type of filter. The foam type I wash out, re-oil and reuse. The pleated paper type I blow out from the inside with compressed air (though I know "they" say not to) or replace with new.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: