Craftsman tractor with Kohler cv730 engine

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-21-13, 07:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Craftsman tractor with Kohler cv730 engine

Cut the grass 2 days ago and all was well. Yesterday I hooked the sprayer tank to the tractor and started to spray the apple trees. I was about 1/3 done when the engine shuddered and quit. It turns over fine and there is spark at both plugs. The plugs however are dry. The fuel pump is a vacuum feed I think as it is a round disk about 1 or so thick with 3 hose ports. The gas is going through the filter but seems to not be making it to the carb and hence to the cylinders. Is there an air leak? It is a 35hp engine on a 48 inch cutting garden tractor of about 10 years in age.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-21-13, 08:55 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,821
Take the fuel line off of the carb and crank the engine. Does fuel pump out the line?
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-13, 05:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
I took the fuel line off the carb. there was some residual gas in the hose. when I cranked the engine no gas came out of the hose at all.
 
  #4  
Old 05-22-13, 09:14 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,789
Confirm that the pulse line from the engine to the fuel pump is connected at both ends and does not have any holes or cracks but it sounds like you need a new fuel pump. I'm not sure if you can replace the diaphragm in the pump but they are usually pretty inexpensive to just replace the whole pump.
 
  #5  
Old 05-22-13, 09:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
The gas runs out quite readily.
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-13, 09:19 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,821
Take the supply line off the pump and let it hang down lower than the fuel tank. Does fuel run out of it?
 
  #7  
Old 05-22-13, 09:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Runs out easily and quickly.
 
  #8  
Old 05-22-13, 06:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
I have ordered a new fuel pump - wont be here until Tuesday so I will be in limbo until then.
 
  #9  
Old 05-23-13, 03:56 PM
Member
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 42
Write a note and see how it works after you replace the fuel pump. Have you checked the fuel filter by any chance to see if there is any blockage in it?
 
  #10  
Old 05-26-13, 09:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
The fuel filter is good. I put the new fuel pump on this morning with no luck. It still did not pump gas out the disconnected hose to the carb. If I take the pulse hose off the engine and lightly blow into it gas seems to flow through to the carb hose.
 
  #11  
Old 05-26-13, 10:49 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,821
Is the pulse hose cracked?
 
  #12  
Old 05-26-13, 02:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
I took the pulse off and checked. No cracks or leaks. I took all the hoses off and checked them with the same result. When I took the hoes between the fuel filter and pump off and held it low the gas ran out in a solid stream. It is just not getting gas to the carb with enough pressure to fire. Could it be the hoses are not sealing because the clamps are worn?
 
  #13  
Old 05-26-13, 06:46 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,821
Was the engine low on oil when it quit? Does it have compression?
 
  #14  
Old 05-26-13, 07:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
The engine oil was on the low side when it quit but was not out. I was on a bit of a sidehill at the time. I have not checked compression yet.
 
  #15  
Old 05-26-13, 11:20 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,821
Low oil, on an incline, no crankcase pulses to operate the fuel pump... I think your fuel pump is fine, and the least of your problems. I think your engine is blown. Does it seem like it's cranking/spinning faster than it used to? Check for compression. See if there is any at all.
 
  #16  
Old 05-27-13, 08:36 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
I d not have a pressure gauge. I took a plug out and put my finger over the hole. Very little if any air coming out.
 
  #17  
Old 05-27-13, 09:52 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,821
Sounds like bad news to me. I'd say to do more tests to confirm, but I think there is enough evidence already that it's blown.
 
  #18  
Old 05-27-13, 10:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 433
Pull the valve cover and see if a valve is hung open!
 
  #19  
Old 05-27-13, 04:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Shall pull it into the yard and shoot it?
 
  #20  
Old 05-27-13, 08:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 433
Use Dynamite, that will get it going!!!
 
  #21  
Old 05-27-13, 08:35 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,821
Depends on how bad it is, but I'm sure both piston rods are broken, the crankshaft and camshaft may be harmed, the governor is likely ruined, and there may be a crack or hole in the block. The only way to know for sure is to take it off, open it up, and see what it looks like. Just for the heck of it, pull the spark plugs and put a drinking straw in each plug hole and turn the engine. Do you feel anything contact the straw and push it back out the hole? This will tell for 100% sure if it's blown. A hung open valve won't stop the fuel pump from operating.
 
  #22  
Old 05-28-13, 08:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
The engine is a cv730-0027. Would I have to replace it with the 0027?
 
  #23  
Old 05-28-13, 09:05 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,821
No, not necessarily. The main thing you want to look for is crankshaft diameter and length. There are dozens of engines that will fit, some may require changing parts from your old engine, some may not, some may have a different wiring connector in one place or a different throttle or choke hookup, but the engine itself will be the same in most all cases if they are in the same model series and same crankshaft length and diameter.
 
  #24  
Old 05-29-13, 10:39 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 12
Thanks for all the help. I have decided to dump the tractor - motor and all as it is 11 years old and I have been replacing pulleys brackets etc. I have also replaced the mower deck as weldments on the original cracked and fell off. Time to move on.
 
  #25  
Old 05-29-13, 11:14 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 433
Good Choice,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes