John Deere LA145


  #1  
Old 06-05-13, 12:36 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 87
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
John Deere LA145

My friend's JD LA145 will go neither forward nor reverse. He did hit 'something' last time out, so
I'm thinking he broke something under the shroud. I'm told they're belt-driven.
Nothing absolutely nothing about riding mowers myself, I'm asking for an experienced
opinion.
He has no online access, so i'll print out the answers here on DIY and drive over.
Many thanks ahead of time. You guys always come through
Jim in MA
 
  #2  
Old 06-05-13, 05:19 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3,860
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Check the belt that runs the hydrolics, no belt no go.
It's way up under the main frame.
 
  #3  
Old 06-05-13, 07:40 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,031
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
Yep, most likely either the belt came off, the release lever that you move to be able to push the mower got pulled, or he took a rear wheel off to fix a flat and let the axle key fall out.
 
  #4  
Old 06-06-13, 01:41 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 87
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
RE: La145

RE: the JD 145; he got the thing up on end and said there's no belt. It's got a shaft
"from a pedal" directly into the trannie.
I'm going to see if I can d/load a manual for this thing.
Can you recommend a website?
Thank you all
Jim in MA
 
  #5  
Old 06-06-13, 03:59 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 373
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
http://jdpc.deere.com/jdpc/servlet/c...&model=+LA145+

Here is a link that shows the belt you need. This is from my JD dealer in West Plains, MO.
You can just go to a JD website and type in your model number, these belts are quite pricey. Good Luck
 
  #6  
Old 06-06-13, 08:02 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,031
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
That shaft is not what drives the tranny. There is a belt driving the tranny.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: