Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Lawn Mower Help Needed Possible Auto Choke Problem ?

PA

07-08-13, 09:26 AM   #1 (permalink)  
Lawn Mower Help Needed Possible Auto Choke Problem ?

Model: Craftsman gas push mower, Craftsman 190cc* Briggs & Stratton Engine, Low-Wheel Rear Bag Push Mower . Please excuse my complete ignorance of engine terminology as I am a novice do it yourselfer. Last summer my lawn mower started running very sluggish, like it was always about to stall, so I removed the air filter assembly and saw that there is a little plastic piece that is the shape of a "V" or maybe a boomerang that if I moved it to and fro the engine would either shut down or would run at full force (sounds like an airplane engine!) It appears to me a spring or something is missing. I jerry rigged it with by tying in position with a small wire but it runs too fast now and is very loud. Can anyone identify if there is a piece ( maybe a spring ) that fell off? I took the attached picture last night. it isn't the best shot but you can see at 12:00 on the photo is the "boomerang" and around 1:00 you should be able to make out the wire that I used to hold the boomerang in position. Thanks!

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

GA

07-08-13, 10:10 AM   #2 (permalink)  
Yes, the spring is missing. Don't run it like you have it or it will likely blow. Your local small engine shop should have a spring to replace it with.

"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

PA

07-08-13, 11:56 AM   #3 (permalink)  
Thanks Cheese. I would like to do this myself, but what do I call this spring when I want to ask about getting one? I don't want to bring my lawn mower into a repair shop as they always take weeks to get through their backlog of repairs.

Forum Topic Moderator

GA

07-09-13, 01:30 AM   #4 (permalink)