Checking for bad safety switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-26-13, 08:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: bond county illinois
Posts: 170
Checking for bad safety switch

Looking for a better way to check safety switches

When I check switches now I use a continuity tester and attach to coil kill wire,then I go to each switch and push it in with a clamp of some type or whatever I can find and see if I can get the light to go out.Does anyone have a better way to do this.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-26-13, 09:22 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
Why not activate the switch with the clutch, or PTO handle, or get on/off the seat? That way you don't have to try to clamp it.
 
  #3  
Old 07-26-13, 10:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: bond county illinois
Posts: 170
Thanks,Cheese.Yeah I do some of that also.Then If the light stays on I know I have an issue with one of them.Do you go to each one and do continuity checks by each?
 
  #4  
Old 07-26-13, 09:42 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
Usually not. I can usually cycle each switch slowly and see the ohm reading falter hard at some point while cycling the switch that is the culprit. If not, then I check to be sure each switch plunger is actually being depressed/released adequately. If I still can't see any sign of a problem, then I'll unplug one and see if there is still continuity or it goes away. When you get the right one, the continuity will go away. Then for kicks I might check the continuity across the switch. I almost always find the problem before getting to this point though.
 
  #5  
Old 07-29-13, 06:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: bond county illinois
Posts: 170
Thanx, Cheese. I appreciate your explaining your procedures also.I'm checking continuity between the kill wire to the coil and engine ground and that may be wrong because that is a shared ground.I don't do many riders due to lack of space.I should be getting on to one side of the switch and kill wire correct?
 
  #6  
Old 07-29-13, 09:26 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
From the kill wire to the frame. As long as the kill wire is unplugged, you won't have continuity when the switches are in the proper position and working.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes