Hydro Gear Transaxles

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-13, 03:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Hydro Gear Transaxles

Anyone have any experience diagnosing issues with those transaxles? Many thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-13, 05:23 PM
31YTech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: EveryWhere
Posts: 1,263
Hello Staysinthedark,


I may just know a thing or two about these......

What's the model number off the bar code label affixed to the housing and what issues are you having ?
 
  #3  
Old 09-29-13, 05:44 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Will get that for you shortly. Briefly transaxle doesnt drive in F or R. Elevated the unit and works fine.
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-13, 05:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 40
T2 AABC 1X1A 10X1 Made in the USA. Imagine that
 
  #5  
Old 09-30-13, 05:19 AM
31YTech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: EveryWhere
Posts: 1,263
Hello Staysinthedark,


Sounds like your transaxle is low on oil, Do you see any leaks ?

The oil level can be checked by removing the oil fill plug on the top of the transaxle, Proper oil level is to the bottom thread of the oil fill port. If found low, Top off with any quality brand 20w50 engine oil.

The transaxle oil can be changed but requires transaxle removal from the tractor and turned up side down, The oil drains out the fill plug. Then after refilling with new oil a air purge procedure is necessary to rid the pump of air.....


Good Luck
 
  #6  
Old 09-30-13, 05:51 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Thanks. Will be calling them at 0800. Been told it was a sealed unit. Cant disagree with your analysis. Havent noticed any leaks or lessened performance until this. Thanks for your input will post what I find out.
 
  #7  
Old 09-30-13, 09:29 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 17,756
Are you certain the problem is in the hydro unit? I once picked up a JD tractor cheap that could only move on level ground or when the drive wheels were jacked off the ground but could not climb the slightest hill. It turned out to simply be a belt adjustment. The belt was slipping under the slightest load. Tightening it took care of the problem.
 
  #8  
Old 09-30-13, 10:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Was sorta until I jacked it up and it ran fine. Question is it the load and hydraulics? Unit is sealed and factory says nope. Clutches? Maybe? Dont know. Belt was new and it ran jacked up. Factory thought might be the linkage. Checked before and again and dont think it is. Said it cant be electronics. Still diggin thanks for the input.
 
  #9  
Old 10-03-13, 07:32 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Eureka. Maybe. Posting answers on the Poulan 300 transaxle thread thread
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes