yard vacuum won't rev high enough


  #1  
Old 10-21-13, 05:17 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yard vacuum won't rev high enough

I have a Cyclone Rake for picking up leaves behind my lawn tractor. It has a Tecumseh 6,0 HP engine on it to provide power for suction. the motor has suddenly begun to puff back through the carburetor at the same time as through the muffler. It starts and idles but will not rev high enough to vacuum well especially with the air cleaner on. It seems to me to be an intake valve problem but I need some help. I have not pulled it down yet. I wanted to get some input first.
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 10-22-13, 12:35 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,029
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
Does applying partial choke help at all? Kind of sounds like the valve clearances might be a bit tight, but start with the simple stuff. What model engine is it? There were a lot of 6hp engines.
 
  #3  
Old 10-22-13, 09:58 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Howdy! The engine is a Tecumseh OHH60-71177F. Cyclone Rake used to use them on the Commercial lawn vacuums. The motor has never been touched except for basic maintenance. Applying the choke does nothing except stifle the engine like putting on the air cleaner.
Thanks for your consideration!
 
  #4  
Old 10-22-13, 10:20 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,029
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
How much compression does it have? With it blowing out both ports, it could be a valve issue or it can do this when the engine is too weak to run the load applied.
 
  #5  
Old 10-22-13, 12:27 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 2,296
Upvotes: 0
Received 31 Upvotes on 29 Posts
If at some point the engine came to a sudden stop you could have a partially sheared flywheel key. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #6  
Old 10-23-13, 06:09 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
got it fixed

Howdy! Thanks for the replies.
I opened up the valve train and found the exhaust valve extra loose. The lock nut was loose also. So. I adjusted it to be close to the same slack as the other tightened up the lock nut, put it back together and tried it out. It works as good as it always has. Exhaust valve must not have been opening enough so when the intake valve started to open it would pop back. Whatever the case it is working fine now. Thanks again for your help.
 
  #7  
Old 10-23-13, 09:41 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,029
Received 152 Upvotes on 139 Posts
Sounds good, glad you got it!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: