How do I change safety switch on Craftsman tractor

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-29-13, 01:44 PM
Home wrecker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Rochester
Posts: 372
How do I change safety switch on Craftsman tractor

I have a Craftsman lawn tractor. Model # 917.273811. I am having a problem changing the safety switch for the brake/clutch pedal. I pried the old one out but I can't get the new one in. The bar that makes the switch work is right in the way and I don't see any way to move the bar out of the way. There is a bar connected to it but they put the cotter pin in so the top of the pin hits the round bar that runs to the pedal. In fact all of the cotter pins are put in so you can get at them..
Does anybody know how to do this???
 
Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-29-13, 07:40 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,575
I just went out and looked at one like that. Take the transmission belt off of the idler pulleys shown in the second pic above. This will allow the pedal to travel back a bit more and get the switch actuator out of the way enough to pop the new switch right back in place.
 
  #3  
Old 10-30-13, 01:47 PM
Home wrecker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Rochester
Posts: 372
Hey Cheese
I can't thank you enough. Once I did that it went right in. I never thought of the belt!

I've changed the seat switch, and the clutch switch with new ones. I tried to start it and it still won't start, so I took the switch I took out of the clutch and put it in place of the switch under the blade lever. Still nothing. The battery is up full charge, I checked it on the charger. I even put dielectric grease on the switch and fuse connections. I don't know where to look next. Any suggestions???
Is it possible that new selonoid isn't any good?
 
  #4  
Old 10-30-13, 06:54 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,575
It's possible, but you really should be checking voltages with a test light or meter to find out where the problem is. Is the solenoid getting power to the white wire when you turn the key to start?
 
  #5  
Old 10-31-13, 01:54 PM
Home wrecker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Rochester
Posts: 372
I think the clutch switch was the original problem. I went up town and bought a multi meter. The switch had inconsistent continuity. If I wiggled the plunger on the switch I had continuity. If I pushed it straight down nothing.
Then being the brain that I am; While I'm putting in all of these new switches, I decided to throw a new solenoid on it. The stupid solenoid tested as bad. Sears will be getting that sucker back. Had I left the old solenoid alone my problem would have been over days ago. Goes to show you, you can't always trust new parts to actually work. Especially ones made on the other side of the pond, cheap junk!!!

But thanks ten million for the help on getting that clutch switch out
 
  #6  
Old 10-31-13, 05:42 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,575
No problem, glad you got it!
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 PM.